NBA Preview: Standings Prediction (Eastern Conference)

Edward Campanelli
SportsRaid
Published in
7 min readAug 24, 2022

--

This is the first part of my two-part series where I lay out my standings predictions for the upcoming NBA season, and analyze my picks, division by division. This article will cover the Eastern Conference and the next one will cover the Western Conference. Without further ado, let’s get into it!

Atlantic Division: 76ers, Celtics, Knicks, Nets, Raptors

Tier 1: Celtics & 76ers

📸 courtesy of Celtics Blog

The Boston Celtics and the Philadelphia 76ers are undoubtedly the two teams sitting atop the Atlantic Division. They were the two best squads last season, and I expect them to do the same this season. Boston is led by the superstar duo of Jayson Tatum and Jaylen Brown, backed by Marcus Smart, Robert Williams III, and the NBA’s best defense. On the other hand, Philly has a perennial MVP candidate Joel Embiid, superstar James Harden, and budding young star Tyrese Maxey. Both Boston and Philly are two-way forces, with star-studded cores, but Boston is deeper and is the better overall team.

Prediction for Boston: 56–26

Prediction for Philadelphia: 48–34

Atlantic Division Tier 2: Nets & Raptors

--

--

Edward Campanelli
SportsRaid

NBA and rap music journalism. Follow and upgrade through my account to support me!