Photo by Olivier Collet on Unsplash

The Complicated Legacy of Kobe Bryant (1978–2020)

We cannot erase Kobe’s mistakes, but we dare not reduce him to them either…

Brandon Anderson
Published in
11 min readJan 27, 2020

--

“WHENEVER YOU THROW SOMETHING IN THE TRASH, YOU YELL KOBE. I don’t even know his last name. Just Kobe. Michael Jordan, LeBron James, and Kobe. That’s it. I’m sad.”

I found out from my sister. She doesn’t even follow sports, but she knew who he was. She instinctively knew just how important he was, how important he must be to me, to everyone.

Kobe Bryant died Sunday.

I can’t believe I just typed those words.

Kobe Bryant is gone.

I suspect this is one of those moments we’ll all remember where we were when we first heard the news. Magic Johnson’s HIV announcement comes to mind. MJ’s (first) shock retirement. The Tiger car accident. Princess Di. Michael Jackson. For older generations, JFK.

And now, somehow, Kobe.

Close your eyes for a second.

Can you still picture the smile? Can you see the silhouette of his fadeaway jumper? Do you see the competitive scowl? The signature leaping fist pump? Can you hear his voice in your head?

I can.

--

--

Brandon Anderson
SportsRaid

Sports, NBA, NFL, TV, culture. Words at Action Network. Also SI's Cauldron, Sports Raid, BetMGM, Grandstand Central, Sports Pickle, others @wheatonbrando ✞