GOSPEL| SONGS| LYRICS

I Have Had Special Emotional ‘Attachments’ to these

They are worth it after all

Chinedu V. Onyema
Spot On

--

Photo by Toa Heftiba on Unsplash

Some musical pieces that were more than songs to me are memories I would not forget in a hurry. For instance, permit me to take a look at the following.

Mary McKee and the Genesis had a special effect on me. This is despite the fact that I am not a thorough music enthusiast.

I wonder what it would have been if I were.

The songs were more than entertainment materials. They were instruments of healing. They were antidotes to depression and despair. They were calls to be in peace with humanity and Divinity.

In the album, “Try A Little Kindness” with the hit song of the same title, the message was out of this world. It had a combination of moral, humanitarian and spiritual appeals.

You could not be truly said to be kind when your kindness is hidden somewhere. You do not need a big kindness to demonstrate how kind you are.

Kindness (or the absence of it) is akin to the small thing that means a lot (or the big thing that means a little).

To many folks on the street, what they need is a little act of kindness to become what they dream to be in life. It could be shelter or a little start-up one thing or the other.

There was also the latter but greater: “Cast Down Your Cares” by the same aforementioned group. I could vividly remember those nights I could hardly sleep ordinarily.

By playing them via cassette tapes, sleep from the northern and southern hemispheres plus the tranquilizing colds of the North Pole would descend on my ambience and take me to distant familiar terrains of utopian quietude and rest.

You could describe them as agents of ‘adult lullaby’ without being at any fault whatsoever.

Away from that was George Hamilton IV’s (“Family Bible”) great rendition which part of the lyric sang:

“I can see us sit round the table and from the family bible then we read.

I can hear my mother softly singing:

‘Rock of ages, Rock of ages cleft for me …”’

The literal softness of the tone and voices was a positive killer of sorts …

Of course, worthy of mention was Jim Reeves’ “As God keeps the Night watch for you and for me …”

That was one of the greatest blends of songs that worked more than the greatest drugs. I wish I could upload the links but my apologies …

The spirit and power behind them were beyond the ordinary.

Thanks for reading.

Subscribe to my email whenever I publish. Support my work in cash or in kind or otherwise.

Contact: eduuwanile2023@gmail.com

--

--

Chinedu V. Onyema
Spot On

From the influence of intuitive inspiration to the affluence of gracious Grace and to confluence of ideas, I write. "Life would be tragic if it weren't funny."