Valentine’s Day, Chinese style

June Wang
Spotlight Media
Published in
2 min readFeb 11, 2018

The 20th of May is a special day when lovers empty their wallets and fill their hearts.

Holding an empty wallet in the left hand, an armful of gifts in the other, and looking at their lover’s happy face — their wallets are empty, but their hearts are full like a jar of honey.

I am sad cause my wallet is empty but I am happy my girlfriend is happy. Photo by June Wang

The pronunciation of “I love you” in Chinese sound the same as the numbers 520, which also means 20th May — which has become the Chinese online Valentine’s Day. It’s a special day not only for couples to show their love to each other, also a day for couples to empty their wallet with happiness.

“Although my wallet is empty, but my heart is full of happiness. I have bought a lot of gifts for my girlfriend. When I saw her smile, I think she is worth me emptying my wallet. This day is another chance for me to show my love to her, besides Valentine’s Day!” said Zhang Xinyou, a University of Central Lancashire student, 21.

But this is not only a day that gives the male a chance to show their love to their lovers, it’s also a chance for the female to give their boyfriends and husbands a surprise!

Victoria Lin said she knew that her boyfriend wants a MacBook for a long time but he didn’t splurge to buy it for himself. So before the 20th May she bought the computer for him secretly. “My boyfriend cannot believe his eyes when I bring the gift to him. I am very proud of myself although my wallet was empty.” said Lin, a University of Manchester student, 20.

Empty wallet and bags. Photo by June Wang

However most people think this festival is becoming more and more commercialized. There are discounts everywhere on 20th May. This is for those couples who go shopping together, this move also increases sales for shopping malls. This commercialized event also brings some hurt to single people.

“I am still single, and that make me even scared to go out on 20th May, because there are too many events and discounts just for couples. I feel lonely when I’m walking on the street with thousands of couples. And I don’t think I will like that day until I have a lover. If I have a girlfriend I prefer to empty my wallet for her, said Li Qinglin, a student of University of Central Lancashire, 20.

“please give more attention to the single people on this Chinese online Valentine’s Day!”

--

--