The Best Ships Have Sailed Songs

Lindsey Flagg
Spotlyts Magazine
Published in
2 min readJul 18, 2023
Photo by Lindsey Flagg.

I discovered Ships Have Sailed in 2017, and I’ve found their music to be an interesting and thoughtful addition to my song library ever since. I enjoy the earnestness of their sound, which isn’t always present in modern music. In celebration of their latest single “Edge Of An Ocean,” which was released today (July 18th), I thought I’d share my Top 5 Ships Have Sailed songs with you all. Here we go!

1. “Can’t Go Back (Live from Ojai)”

“Can’t Go Back” performed live by Ships Have Sailed at Ojai.

I love this song because it has feelings of deep hurt and yet also strength and determination. I especially enjoy the live version because the emotional quality of the song is amplified.

2. “Up”

“Up” performed live by Ships Have SAild at Sofar Los Angeles.

“Up” was the first song I heard by Ships Have Sailed, and it is still one of my favorites. It motivates listeners to be the type of people that others can look up to. It also reminds me to not fall into a pit of negativity when I’m having a bad day or a frustrating challenge. I enjoy any version of this poppy, uplifting piece, but here’s the live performance from Sofar Los Angeles for you to enjoy.

3. “Take My Money”

Official Music Video for “Take My Money” by Ships Have Sailed.

This track is interesting because it tackles a topic we don’t hear about too often in music. It also has a sound that is the perfect fusion of retro and modern music. It is undeniably catchy!

4. “Love In October”

Official Music Video for “Love in October” by Ships Have Sailed.

I love the emotion in this track, and the music has an almost dreamy cinematic quality while remaining serious and contemplative. It’s the perfect song for Fall but is also a treasure year-round.

5. “Edge Of An Ocean”

Official Music Video for “Edge of an Ocean” by Ships Have Sailed.

This list would be incomplete without including Ships Have Sailed’s latest single, which was released today, July 18th, 2023. This song feels sad and hopeful at the same time, and has a sweetness to it that is best experienced for yourself.

Originally published at https://flaggmusicblog.com on July 18, 2023.

--

--