What I’m Listening to Now: Cover Songs Edition

Lindsey Flagg
Spotlyts Magazine
Published in
2 min readJun 19, 2024
Photo by Burst on Pexels.

Good Day and Happy Summer! This month, I have decided to share some of my favorite cover songs at the moment. They are…very specific cover songs. Those who have followed me for a while will know what I mean when they see the list. I like to think that the original artists would enjoy these covers, too. Check them out and let me know what you think in the comments or on social media!

1. “Lemonade” (Adam Friedman Cover by Henry Vee)

I like the gentle, chill, acoustic energy of this cover. The guitar is so clear. It’s really flawless!

2. “Pretty Things” (Adam Friedman Cover by FELLOW)

Yes, FELLOW was on X-Factor Italia with Mika as a judge and it’s an Adam Friedman song. That makes me like this cover more, but the dramatic, theatrical energy is what really stands out. The original is dramatic as it is; Fellow’s version just highlights this quality even more.

3. “Glorious” (Adam Friedman Piano Cover by Jon Pumper)

This is a longtime favorite cover of mine. It feels gentle and rousing at the same time-kind of like the original song!

4. “Origin of Love” (MIKA Cover by Soulstice A Capella)

As you’ve probably noticed by now, I love covers that double down on the original vibes of the source material. This jaw-dropping performance by Soulstice A Capella is a perfect example that showcases MIKA’s creative talent. The singers’ range is incredible!

5. “Mika — Medley” Cover by Alexis Carlier

I can’t believe this guy’s range. I mean, I can, because MIKA exists. But his clear vocals combined with his equally clear piano playing is something to appreciate. I also have a weak spot for a medley.

6. “Tiny Love” (MIKA Instrumental Cover by Mikel P. Music)

I can’t believe I haven’t written about this cover before now. It’s one of my go-to’s that gets me energized and puts a smile on my face. This musician has real talent. I also can’t get over the fact that Mikel P. connected the song logo to his own name, that’s the type of detail I love.

Originally published at https://flaggmusicblog.com on June 19, 2024. It has been updated for this publication.

--

--