What I’m Listening to Now: Instrumental Edition

Lindsey Flagg
Spotlyts Magazine
Published in
2 min readJul 9, 2024
Photo by Kai Pilger on Pexels.

Happy July, readers! This month I’m returning with another group of three musical offerings you should know about. I’ll focus on instrumental releases this month to help expand your horizons!

1. Craftsman Extraordinaire by Melo Craft

Melo Craft is back with Craftsman Extraordinaire, a 15-song album that retains the Afrobeat vibes of Melodic Escapades: Tales of Dusk and Jungle but adds a new jazzier layer that I am really enjoying. Some current standouts for me are “ Lovers’ Paradise,” “ Jazz & Vibes,” and “ Smooth Operator,” linked above. I will have to keep listening to determine my absolute favorites!

2. “Jane Birkin (8-Bit Mika Emulation)” by 8-Bit Arcade

I had no clue that 8-bit music was a thing. Now that I’ve discovered it, I’m hooked! 8-Bit Arcade’s covers have been of special interest to me lately. This MIKA emulation is no exception. It retains the complex emotion of the original song while still sounding like something you would hear in a retro video game.

3. Zodi et Tehu, Freres du Desert Soundtrack by MIKA

I’m sure I’ve already written about this album once, if not twice. However, I’ve been giving it renewed appreciation lately and thought my readers might want to rediscover it, too. I may be cheating a bit, as there are vocals on several of the songs. However, if you are looking for fantastic instrumentals, the pieces on this album are a great addition to your music library even if you take out the top-notch lyrical MIKA vocal tracks.

What are your favorite instrumentals? Let me know!

Originally published at https://flaggmusicblog.com on July 9, 2024. It has been edited for this publication.

--

--