Multiple final thoughts (for the course blog, not in life).

Alex Venuto
SPPG+Evergreen
Published in
2 min readFeb 9, 2018

In our last formal class, we had the opportunity to hear from three change makers: Gita Madan, Samiya Abdi, and Jay Wall. All three individuals had a unique and exciting story to share about creating change in an issue they were passionate about. While each change maker offered different insights, the key message, for me, is to not get discouraged and keep striving toward your goal. Often you will experience a setback or a roadblock, and you may think what you’re working towards won’t happen. It’s important, however, to stay motivated and keep trying to accomplish your goal. Don’t give up!

Throughout the course, I’ve gained some perceptions about making change from outside the government. First, non-profit organizations and change makers have a lot less capacity than governments, they need to be creative, collaborative, and organized to make an impact. Secondly, the highly collaborative environment creates multiple moving parts and different interests among groups, even when groups are working to solve the same issue. Thirdly, sometimes change happens so quickly you can’t keep up, and other times change doesn’t happen at all. Although it may seem that I have just listed a bunch of barriers — they are not. Each is an opportunity that can be leveraged to have a more wholesome impact on societal problems.

I also learned that people are one of the most important means to creating change. It is people that tell you what they need, help create a solution, or implement a program. People’s networks can connect you to others with similar motivations or more resources and can turn ideas into actions. Further, it is important to remember that regardless of what side of the fence a person is on, they are still a person and you should treat everyone with respect and dignity. You never know when the ‘enemy’ may become an ally.

It is also important to self-reflect. The chaos from the multiple moving parts is challenging to evaluate on the spot. As well, the values, ideas, and motivations you learn from those you work with are important to consider when thinking through your own solutions. I often found myself asking, “how did this person come up with these ‘golden rules’?” I think the answer to this is to always reflect on what you learn.

As the course begins to wrap up and we finish our final projects, I’d like to offer one final reflection. I’ve learned a lot from my colleagues, especially my group members, Harpreet and Sasha. I enjoyed working with both, as they offered perspectives and ideas that I would not have without them. These two individuals taught me a lot, thanks!

--

--