The Resilience of the Status Quo

Alex Izgerean
SPPG+Evergreen
Published in
3 min readFeb 14, 2018
The group of changemakers

Over the course of a few weeks I have been given the opportunity to be in a class of change-makers, learning how exactly to make change. My group and I (Terhas and Blake) have grappled with tackling a strategy to address the racially disproportionate amount of early school leavers in Toronto, specifically racialized Black youth and the lack of data surrounding systemic causes of suspension and expulsions. We settled on the lack of meaningful data as one of the underlying issues that needs to be addressed first. If I’ve learned anything it’s that there are no hard and fast rules when trying to make change from a community level or based approach, nor a clear and linear road map for how to achieve change — and as we heard, the status quo is remarkably resilient.

In this class we have been exploring: our surroundings, the community around us, each other’s perspectives and our own. We have learned from each other in meaningful, participatory and bonding ways not typically found in a University of Toronto classroom. I have felt so lucky to be able to speak to people working within Evergreen, our instructors Gabriel and Jo, my classmates and those from the community willing to share with us as we dive into the specifics of “on the ground policy”.

Last week, we were lucky enough to have three change-makers with us to share their experiences and wisdom in making change on a variety of issues through creativity, persistence and understanding. Their lessons and stories had a deep impact on me, and helped me work through an process some of my own inner conflicts I’ve grappled with about community advocacy, change and life. One speaker’s words, Samiya, really stuck with me. She spoke about the importance of being an ally, of identifying your own space, power and privilege and using them to elevate others voices. She also spoke about the importance of empathy but in not taking on other’s trauma of lived experiences. She commented that people often say they’re looking through an ‘equity ‘ lens’ at issues. Yet ‘equity’ is not a lens you can take on and off, it is something you live and something you should practice.

Whether it’s working with issues surrounding systemic racism of Black youth, or the numerous complex issues surrounding Indigenous rights in Canada and the public’s opinion — I have neither of these lived experiences but it is important that I know the space I occupy and abilities to raise these voices if I can. It is important that I recognize my perspectives and engage with others constantly, to listen.

After this course specifically, I feel as though I’ve been given the beginnings of a toolkit, and a few more helpful pieces of wisdom I didn’t have before.

I’ve learned that humans must be at the center of everything you do. This doesn’t just mean in consultation on a policy or an idea, but in everyday life.

You have to talk to people, listen and engage on difficult issues in order to make any progress towards change.

Check the status of the dance floor: is an issue crowded with many people already doing good work or is it open for your whirlwind moves?

Relationships are what seem to make the most change. With that, you need to know your universe. Who is an ally, in opposition or passive and active — and can they be swayed.

You have to be persistent, in repeating an issue, a story or a narrative to gain allies, support and traction.

Change will not happen the way you intend, and flexibility is paramount.

Passion and dedication will get things done.

As future policy makers, advocates and change-makers, these ‘Golden Rules” can help navigate how to make meaningful policy based on human and community needs. I have gained so much from this course that I cannot properly articulate. I can only hope to take what I have learned and the passion for learning that still exists, to continue to grow, listen, and engage.

The status quo may be resilient, but so are we.

Our last day at Evergreen

--

--

Alex Izgerean
SPPG+Evergreen

Master’s student at @SPPG_UofT. Director at @pgiconsultants. Artist with @paintniteTO. I like art, policy and cats — in no particular order.