How Logan Paul Failed at Merch

D.J. Coffman
Spreadshop Magazine
4 min readMar 23, 2018
WOW! There was a time Logan Paul was not controversial.

Listen, that title was total clickbait, and I’m okay with it. I do have a Logan Paul tale to tell…

Last summer, before Logan Paul even had merch for sale or was a controversial household Youtube name, he and I were talking back and forth about the possibility of launching his clothing line at Spreadshop. I did some test printing for him mostly because I was entertained by his videos and he made me laugh at the time and I kept thinking, “Why doesn’t this guy have a shirt for sale???” So I simply asked him.

Logan told me he didn’t’ want to just launch random goofy quotes on shirts, he wanted his own “label” that inspired people. I admired that about Logan and I enjoyed his videos back then that seemed very authentic and inspiring to young kids to be themselves, “be a maverick!” And so his “Maverick” brand was born.

He liked the idea that with Spreadshop was worry free and he wouldn’t have to put tons of money into stock that was sitting around (like those Maverick bird socks, remember those?) I even did a cool test drawing for him which he loved…

I felt like I would have been Spreadshop’s hero bringing on Logan on board. In the end, Logan went with some local printers from Ohio which I also respect. And looking back at all the controversy that happened in Logan’s Youtube career, ehhhhh…. I’m kinda glad I wasn’t the guy who brought him to Spreadshop now! :) See? It all works out.

Logan Paul’s current “Classics” Line could easily be on Spreadshop.

Spreadshop does indeed allow you to sell your own range of custom merchandise on top brands like American Apparel, Next Level & More. But we can’t offer every item all the time or hand made items (YET! Spoilers) The truth is Spreadshop isn’t really for a gigantic Youtuber who wants to sell socks and alternative merchandise. However, Spreadshop is still an amazing supplement for creators of all kinds. And I’m also proud that all these young hustlers of Youtube who are megastars now started with a Spreadhop. Roll call: Pewdiepie, H3H3, iDubzz, Dan TDM, MirandaSings…. The list goes on and on.

Heck, I can’t see why a fella like Logan Paul wouldn’t just keep a Spreadshop active, sell just shirts there as another avenue for people to find his brand and his merch. We still have TONS of very popular Youtubers who do both. Couple of examples off the top of my head, H3H3 and iDubzz still have Spreadshops even though they have other shops as well. I think even Dan TDM still keeps his active. Yeah, some people get so big they can outgrow a Spreadshop, but it doesn’t mean you have to close it down. That’s like leaving money on the table.

H3H3 still has a fun shop up art Spreadshop.
iDubbbz famous SHEEP shirts nearly broke the internet.

Also… dudes. If you’re gonna be a super popular Youtuber selling merch, Spreadshop seriously offers one of, if not the greatest volume commission structures on the planet. As much as Logan Paul makes on his Logang and Maverick merch now, he could have made up to 60% more with a Spreadshop. Unfathomable. You may think this is some marketing BS or sales pitch, but I personally watched it happen for iDubbbz with his SHEEP shirt not too long ago. Wowza, that was INSANE.

Since I also have a background in the entertainment world, I can’t imagine the number of middlemen making money before the creators do. Nickle and diming them to death. Spreadshop helps cut out those other middlemen. Just you, your own ideas for merch then sold from Spreadshop direct to your fans. Easy.

Logan, if you’re out there googling your own name, you know it’s never too late to open a side Spreadshop. I’ll keep your name reserved for you.

Oh! And if you’re a young creator out there and need art like the above drawn, or shirt designs created, Spreadshop also now has Premium Design Service made especially for you!

Open Your Spreadshop in minutes. It’s free.

Spreadshop Premium Design Service

Custom Designs Made by Spreadshop for you.

--

--

D.J. Coffman
Spreadshop Magazine

by day I head up the Spreadshop.com Growth Marketing Team. By night I'm a freelance cartoonist. I also play ukulele and love Pearl Jam.