London Marathon 2017 training — ‘Fundamental’ phase theory

Jonathan S Bean
Sprezzatura Running
4 min readNov 30, 2016

The ‘Fundamental’, or ‘Base’ phase, is the first step of the progression that eventually leads to marathon specific training.

Standard Renato Canova thinking (or, my interpretation of it) is that long runs get extended to 1:45' to 2:30' at 1.1 to 1.2x marathon pace (MP); general runs are at the same sort of speed; and the week is punctuated by hill sprints, gym work, and drills. It’s not too dissimilar to the General phase that preceded it, which shouldn’t be a surprise considering that each phase represents a gradual progression from the last.

As it will take me the best part of an hour longer to run a marathon than the average Canova athlete I want to progress the long run to 3:00'. Ideally I will run this at 80% of MP (under 8'15/mile based on a 3:00' marathon), but duration, and how the run feels, is more important than precise speed at this stage.

These runs are run off no breakfast and without carrying food or water (easier to do when training in the winter for a spring marathon, than training in the summer for an autumn marathon). The idea is to stress the body’s energy systems, encourage fat oxidisation, and get used to being slightly dehydrated (I’m not running anywhere remote, so if things got really uncomfortable and dangerous I could pop into a shop and sort myself out).

It’s rare to find a marathon training plan that has three hour, 22+ mile long runs four months before the marathon. However, it makes a lot of sense. I’m not an elite runner, but likewise, I have run a few marathons and done so reasonably quickly. Running the distance is not a problem, so the importance of the classic long slow runs is less significant for me than, for example, my sister who ran her first marathon a couple of months ago.

For beginner training plans, the long run is run at a pace broadly similar to the probably race pace, and therefore it is the most important part of the training plan. This is because covering the distance is the primary aim.

Once you’re looking to run faster marathons, you need to extend the distance you can run at MP. A solid endurance base will help you to achieve that. The result is that the classic long slow run is moved towards the start of the training plan. They are no longer the focus of the progression, but serve as support runs. Then, once I’m in the Specific (or Competition phase) I’ll try and build up to 18 miles at MP.

The Fundamental phase lasts two months and I’ll aim to hit my peak mileage half way through, before attempting to maintain that mileage while increasing the speed a little before moving into the next phase. The idea behind increasing the volume is to build an aerobic and bio-mechanical base, with the hill sprints and speed-work providing some balance.

What is my peak mileage? I’m not sure. Probably somewhere between 50 and 70 miles per week, but I don’t want to get injured just for the sake of hitting a big number to boost my ego and look good on Strava.

As with the General phase, I’m deviating from the usual Canova approach by keeping the Southampton AC track sessions on Tuesdays as I think I get a lot out of them. There are a few weeks where I won’t be able to make these, so I’ll swap them for the Thursday night Southampton AC hill sessions instead. It might be that I do both, if my legs feel up for it, but I don’t want to get too tired or injured, so I’ll play it by ear.

As for racing, I want to run in the Hampshire Cross Country League race at Popham that falls halfway through this phase. I’ve missed the first two races, but want to get a decent, hard, slog in. I have also entered the Abominable Snowman 10 mile race on the Isle of Wight on the day after Boxing Day. This will be neither quick or pretty, but it will be hard, require a broad range of muscle fibre types, and be on soft ground— which are the priorities for racing at the moment.

Lastly, I’ll carry on with the heavier strength work that I started in the General phase.

Duration: Progress to three hours at 80% MP, hitting that by the start of week 19 (I count down in my plans, so week 19 indicates 19 weeks to go). Then, maintain the duration at three hours whilst getting the pace lower (if possible) with fast finishes or long reps in the middle.

Sub-AT: Southampton AC sessions — Tuesday, Thursday, or both.

Hill sprints: Once a week, building to 12 reps with walk recoveries

Weights: Twice a week, working on technique and getting comfortable with squats

Racing: Hampshire Cross Country League at Popham, and Abominable Snowman.

Pre-hab: Form a habit, aiming for twice a week

Mileage: Build, hitting peak by week 19, but remain within the 1:1.2 chronic:acute ratio to avoid injury

Weight: I’m a little bit heavier than I would like to be (and a fair bit heavier than I was at this time before Sevilla in 2015), so I’m going to try and drop this down a bit before Christmas.

Unlisted

--

--