In Between Words

Spring Cheng
The Voice of Spring
1 min readSep 11, 2016

What is in between my words?
It is me, the liquid part of me
Seeping through the cracks in castle of words
For thousands and thousands of years
Pouring into an ocean of
Raw feelings and senses
With dark, untamable waves

And yes, my words tried to sort them
Into ready-made boxes with neat labels
Until one day, a tsunami swept through
Destroyed the castle and everything in it
Leaving my carcass spread all over the sand

Out of the debris
I slowly picked up my pieces
Trying to put them back together
How am I going to reassemble myself this time
So that the words can be a gentle guide
Instead of the prison guard
A signpost
Instead of destination
So that the words can be transparent and porous
Allowing the light behind to shine through

And then, maybe then
You will be able to see the lines on my face
Hear my voice with its ever-changing pitch and tone
You will be able to smell the scent of my sweat and
Taste the salt of my tear?

--

--

Spring Cheng
The Voice of Spring

Great change is happening every moment on the planet. I invite it to speak, sing, and breathe life into me. Co-founder of Resonance Path Institute.