Reeds

Spring Cheng
The Voice of Spring
1 min readApr 9, 2020

This song is composed over Reeds, a poem selected from the Classics of Poetry, the oldest poetry collection in China, dating from 1100 BCE to 700 BCE.

To me, this poetry describes the arduous and rewarding journey of seeking anything that is meaningful in life, love, beauty, service, purpose and self-realization.

lyrics

By the river bank lush reeds grow,
covered in dew white as snow;
The beauty I want to know,
is somewhere along the river flow;
Wading against the running water,
along a tough and windy path I go;
Swimming down the river flow,
I find her right in the middle.

By the river bank dense reeds flourish,
covered in dew so fresh;
The beauty I want to search,
is somewhere along the sandy beach;
Wading against the running water,
a tough and strenuous path I pick;
Swimming along the sandy beach,
I find her on a shoal within reach.

By the river bank thick reeds multiply,
covered in dew reflecting light;
The beauty I want to find,
is somewhere along the water line;
Wading against the running water,
a tough and long path I tried;
Swimming along the water line,
I find her right on an isle.

--

--

Spring Cheng
The Voice of Spring

Great change is happening every moment on the planet. I invite it to speak, sing, and breathe life into me. Co-founder of Resonance Path Institute.