#RealTalk — Womxn in Tech | Q/A with Shalini Aggarwal (Tech Lead, SquadStack)

Simran Kaur
SquadStack Engineering
5 min readOct 19, 2021

Celebrating the stories of underrepresented genders in tech — one talk at a time.

SquadStack’s #RealTalk Q/A series seeks to encourage gender equality in the workplace, by amplifying the voices of women and non-binary people making a difference in the Tech World.

In the first edition, the spotlight is on our very own Shalini Aggarwal (Tech Lead, SquadStack). So naturally, this one is quite special. Go, Shalini!

About Shalini

With over five years of experience working in tech, Shalini is skilled in database design, complex programming, and cloud infrastructure.

From being the first woman developer in our team to leading a team of women developers, she’s had quite the journey!

In this interview, we’ll explore several topics ranging from the skillsets needed to get into tech, the challenges women face in the industry, and finally, how to build a diverse and inclusive workspace.

Let’s get talking!

1. What inspired you to get into tech?

My journey with tech began quite early in life. I had a cousin who was way into tech, constantly introducing me to different games and software. He would show me how they make our lives easier by giving insights into how they are built and function.

Schooling played a role too. In class 3, we had computer classes where they taught logo turtle (the little turtle you could move around). That was my first interaction with any programming language, and it just left me in awe. I was fascinated! We could just make the system do something on our command and generate actual results!? Now that I look back, that was the moment I realised that this is something I’d want to explore in the future.

And I explored. I got into animation and saw another side of tech, started opting for things that would eventually get me into this industry, and coding in class 11 was when it became clear that this is where I belong.

From then till now, my journey has taught me …

“Determination and love for your dream can help you overcome every obstacle that comes your way.”

2. What skill sets and qualities do you need?

I believe I'm constantly in the process of learning and growing into a better version of myself. Although technical skills are essential and there are a few I need to up-skill myself with, soft skills are equally important - especially when you're working with a team. I've always been a people person, due to which I believe I'm good at observing behavioural patterns. This ability has been beneficial in understanding team dynamics and leadership better.

3. What is the best thing about working in tech?

Building stuff that has an actual impact on the people around us. You can even end up building something that completely changes how a large population of the world works, which leaves me in awe.

4. What are the biggest challenges you have faced as a woman in tech?

It starts right from school. My batch hardly had any women in STEM. Sadly, there is a general belief that women are not smart enough for this industry, and it shows. One time, I submitted a game I developed as a project & the evaluator dismissed it as something I couldn't have built. In college, I got selected for an internship along with the assertion that I'm the first woman they've offered this to and that it took 'convincing' people to give me a chance.

From getting paid less than the men doing the same work (sometimes, with lesser experience) to being treated a little less than the guys on the team, I've faced some form of sexism in this industry for most of my life. A common belief is that women are just not good at this stuff and need to work harder because it doesn't come as naturally to a woman as to a man. And I've been told that, too.

5. What are the things that are essential to creating an inclusive workplace?

Treat everyone equally, give opportunities to people based on their skills and not their gender. When I was actively looking for new opportunities, I remember SquadStack's hiring process standing out so much more than the rest. I honestly didn't know I was the first woman to have joined the Tech Team, which was a little unexpected because I couldn't even sense a hint of sexism during the whole process! It's been quite a journey, and I can proudly say we're building a diverse and inclusive workplace where everyone feels like they belong. Here are a few things we do to ensure inclusivity at SquadStack:

  • Use gender-inclusive terms instead of exclusionary terms like “bro” or “guys”, when referring to a group.
We have a custom Slackbot message that pops up when someone uses “guys” or “bro” in the workplace.
  • Normalise women in tech instead of looking at them like some extraordinary creatures who've somehow beaten all odds to be there.
  • Normalise women's needs instead of letting them stay taboo.
No, we don’t have specified “period leaves.” Instead, we’ve created an environment where people can talk about it openly like any other normal thing, because that’s what it is — normal.
  • Accept that gender doesn't play a role in how good one can be in their work, and it shouldn't affect performance evaluation. It’s a good practice to keep re-visiting roles to ensure there’s no selection bias for or against hiring women or men.

At SquadStack, we’re proud of the healthy 1.5:1 gender ratio of men to women we’ve been able to create. And there’s no secret formula for it. We’ve been able to do this by simply hiring the best person for the job, giving equal importance to all genders.

6. Do you have any advice for future women in tech?

Don't let go of something you love or want to do just because it's a little hard for you, rather fight for it and show people that the tech industry is no bar for women. Help normalise the existence of women in tech so that we don't even need to take such initiatives in the future. In the end, we are the ones who'd have to take the baton and cross the finish line by actually running the race.

We’re looking for smart, like-minded engineers to co-build SquadStack with us. Interested? Check out engineering open positions here.

--

--

Simran Kaur
SquadStack Engineering

A psychology graduate who stumbled into marketing to discover her purpose in life — to make an impact by telling engaging stories.