Top Shots of Week One

John Schupbach
Squalor to Scholar
Published in
3 min readJan 18, 2013

I have never been anywhere else in the world where the people are so universally photogenic and surroundings so bright, colorful, and unique. The striking residents here do not beg for money or possessions, but just that I take their photos. It is as if they want me to see them again and remember them forever. Over the past week, I have taken 1,661 photographs, mostly of people. Although I wish I could, there is no way for me to blog about or explain all of them. Therefore, I am occasionally going to upload a “Top Shots” post like this to give you a taste of general life as a foreigner working in the slums of India. Here is my small selection from week one:

Rani’s sister Rupa and her friend Dolly
Roshan’s Mother and Sister
Hitching a ride home on a tractor
Manisha’s brother, Akash, with a local toddler
Gambling on the edge of the slum
Grazing cattle…perhaps there are alternative reasons why nobody eats beef here
Gudiya running home from school
Riding in an auto-rickshaw

--

--

John Schupbach
Squalor to Scholar

Physician. Founder. Engineer. Building better healthcare and education through first principles.