Square Code Camp: Hack On

Pavi Vetriselvan
Square Code Camp
Published in
5 min readFeb 12, 2015

4 days. 22 women. 1 life-changing experience.

A little background…

Most people know Square for its first product, a card-reader that accepts credit card payments simply by connecting to the audio jack of a mobile device.

Fewer people, however, know about Square’s story, about its mission to make commerce easy… for everyone.

Jack Dorsey first came up with the idea for a card reader in 2008. Unable to accept credit card payments, Jim McKelvey, a close friend of Dorsey’s, failed to close a $1,000 sale. He then sought out Dorsey’s help, confident that there was a solution. The rest, they say, was history.

Since its humble beginnings, Square continues to empower merchants to make a living out of the things that make them feel alive.

A little inspiration…

Square’s innovative mindset extends to its many initiatives, one of which happens to be Code Camp. Headed by Vanessa Slavich (whom we consider our “Camp Mom”), Square’s College Code Camp began in 2012 as an annual program with the goal of empowering the next generation of women in technology. Vanessa says “The Code Camp community is made up of passionate, talented, and remarkable women… Many of our first camp graduates are now working in industry and are helping fellow campers with introductions, job interviews, and 1:1 mentorship as they enter their careers.

I couldn’t have said it better myself. Coming out of Code Camp, I took comfort in knowing that I finally belonged to an incredible community of people who would support me, both professionally and personally.

But, an organization is only as good as its people. At Square, everyone I had the pleasure of meeting was intelligent, personable, and humble. Square has a strong focus on company culture and transparency, which in turn results in happy employees and self-growth. Tim Morgan, a Software Engineer at Square, says that “Working here affords me the potential for continued enrichment through Hack Week courses and shadow sessions. And with programs like Code Camp, this focus on personal and professional enrichment is extended to high school and college students as well.” People like Tim have this unique ability to make everyone feel included, and it’s truly comforting to know that such people encourage programs like Code Camp.

We went on to hear from Jack Dorsey, which proved to be an entirely surreal experience. Honestly, if it weren’t for the photographic evidence, I’m not entirely sure I could have believed it happened. Through just one round-table, he was able to convey the importance of questioning the world around us and being present in order to find the answers.

Our subsequent meals with both Alyssa Henry, Square’s VP of Engineering, and Sarah Friar, Square’s CFO and Operations Lead, inspired me to continue pursuing a career in technology, despite the hardships that I will undoubtedly face.

During our conversations, we discussed common statements that most women face while in the tech industry (“Oh, you’re only here because you’re a woman”) and tried to come up with suitable responses. I didn’t have an answer then, but I do now:

“To be honest, yes, I am here because I am a woman, and I know how it feels to constantly have the validity of my accomplishments questioned. I am here because I know I will have to work twice as hard in order to gain half the respect of people who share your views. I am here despite my fears of perpetuating every awful stereotype about female programmers through mistakes that anyone could make. And I am here to lead and welcome a generation of brilliant women to the tech field, eager to see how their perspectives can revolutionize the industry. So yes, I am here because I am a woman. I am here because I deserve to be.”

Render them speechless!

And a whole lot of change!

One of my favorite aspects about Code Camp was using our newfound skills (did I mention that I learned three new languages?) to implement real-world solutions. We were able to create prototype projects for Children’s International, a non-profit organization that changes the lives of children living in poverty by providing them with basic necessities, education, and a chance to succeed.

On our final day, we met two girls who have proved to me that age is but a number, one that has no effect on your ability to change the world. Enter Angel More (12), the youngest girl to climb Mount Aconcagua while raising $100,000 for Children’s International’s youth programs, and Vivienne (10), the chief inspiration officer at Stand, a for-profit social impact brand that “puts your compassion into action.”

I am incredibly excited to watch these girls grow. Because, by the time they become my age, I am certain that they will be unstoppable.

4 days isn’t a lot of time, but when you’re spending nearly 24 hours each day with the same group of women, it’s impossible not to become close. Every single one of them has impacted my life in ways that I never thought possible. What surprised me the most was our diversity, not only in race, but also in interest. I met women who were passionate about software, hardware, product, and project management. We were united by our mutual love for technology and our desire to lead the next generation.

There wasn’t a second when I wasn’t impressed by the people surrounding me. I learned how powerful MIT’s AppInventor could be. I was given a crash course on how to successfully run a hackathon. I rekindled my once dormant love for Python. I was exposed to the practical applications of Google Glass. And I even learned about the connection between Beyonce and the stock market (which is just as awesome as it sounds).

You can always tell when friendships are meant to last. Ours shows in the way we support each other through successful and less than successful interview experiences. It shows in the way we half-jokingly talk of starting our own companies together. And it shows in the way that we reach out to each other, even if its to share completely ordinary aspects of our days.

I don’t think I can ever truly express my gratitude towards these sensational women. Nor can I explain how sometimes, reading our group messages literally just makes me smile. What I can say is that I am thrilled to see where we all go, who we become, and how far we push the boundaries. Because, we’re here to stay.

Ladies, Hack On.

--

--