DEAR KOBE

Kameron Lewis
SquareOne Media
Published in
6 min readJan 28, 2020
Image from Bleacher Report

Dear Kobe,

This still feels fake.

Kobe, you’ve impacted my life more than my friends and family members could ever imagine.

This was more than a basketball obsession or me doing “too much” as everyone would say.

After my father passed I endured a pain that no 8 year old boy should ever have to deal with.

I know that no one can ever replace my father, but when I needed a smile, a sign of encouragement, or some motivation you were there.

Outside of my dad, you were my father figure.

As a kid I never played ball but I admired your talent and skillset.

You helped me light a fire and find a passion for basketball that only someone as great as you could possess.

I watched you win championships. And even get cheated out of several MVP’S.

Some people say that you were their MJ but for me you were more than that.

As a kid that didn’t even grow up watching superheroes, it’s safe to say you were my superman.

To me you were immortal.

To me you were unstoppable(you were).

I’m honestly grateful that I got the chance to watch you dominate the league with my grandfather and aunt.

Without them I’m not sure I would have gained the love for you or the Lakers I have now.

Once reality hit that I wasn’t going to be the next you or let alone a basketball player at all

I focused finding my own path to the NBA … why??

My dream was to be like you. I wasn’t going to let my inability to play the sport stop me from achieving my dream.

That would be the total opposite of Mamba mentality right?

So I began to admire you more than I even thought I could.

I studied your off-court savviness, business prowess, intelligence, and willingness to grow in all of your endeavors like I was preparing for a final exam.

Eventually the kid that admired you for most of his childhood became a young man that still carried the same admiration for you.

When I first found out who you were, you had already encountered things that certain people wouldn’t be able to handle but again I was young so I didn’t fully understand how you prevailed.

The end of my sixth grade year I was able to truly understand how tough you were.

I witnessed something I’d never seen from you.

After a long season of trying to will your team to a playoff seed…. after playing close to 48 minutes a night for a month…. the basketball Gods decided that it was time for your achilles to give out…

Seeing you fall to the ground was nothing. I thought to myself… “It’s Kobe… he’ll get up.. he’s okay”

I mean you’re Kobe Bryant so of course you got up … shot two free throws and walked off the court on your own will… I mean it sounds like something so small…. but what other athlete has done that? None… exactly.

I always knew you had the fight or what we call “heart” to persevere through challenges on the court.

But you were still a human being, just like everyone else.

After the game I saw tears, tears from somebody I’ve never seen cry or show any level of vulnerability.

My idol looked as if all hope was lost.

I went to bed thinking I’d never see you lace em up again.

But boy was I wrong..

I gotta admit Bean, even I doubted you.

But you came back… were you the same?

Hell no. You tore your achilles… but you refused to go out on anybody else’s terms.

So you returned.

6 games into your return you broke your knee……everyone’s like “Yeah,Kobe’s outta here”….

Lmao but boy here you were again.

You came back, AGAIN.

Soon as you returned…another set back, you tore your rotator cuff. The world had given up on you.

Damn near packing your bags.

Did you care? Hell na

You came back again.

Luckily this time I had prepared myself…

I knew that this season could possibly be the last.

So I slowly faced that reality… and here it was

November 29, 2015 I believe we played the Pacers at home…

I’m damn near sure of it.

It was a regular Sunday routine for me..

Iron my school clothes for Monday morning before I watch the Lakers grace the court in their Sunday Whites.

In true Kobe fashion, you hit the world with a shocker… announcing via players tribune it was your last season..

Throughout that season you fought through injuries and preserved your body as much as you could while still putting on a show throughout the season for one last moment.

April 13, 2016.

As I said I was prepared but I wasn’t ready.. if that makes sense.

Friends cracked jokes on you because you were no longer the same… cracked jokes on Laker Nation because we were down…

I had no rebuttal to the jokes but I knew that for that one night you would deliver.

And you’re Kobe Bryant so of course you did.

I got vintage 06 Kobe all over again…

I still don’t understand how you scored 60 at age 37 after all those injuries..

Still amazes me.

Anyway, I cried my ass off KB.

It was one of the saddest days of my life.

I’ve seen those highlights hundreds of times.

So after you retired, I followed everything you did.

Your film breakdown is the reason that I pay for ESPN+ monthly.

I’ve watched every interview you’ve had since you’ve retired.

I’ve camped outside for your books like they were shoes releases.

You were literally my superhero.

This semester I started taking German classes and I was struggling.

I wanted to drop the class.

I instantly thought of you and how fluent you were in every language known to man.

I was like “What would Kobe do?”… Point is I’m still taking the course

So yesterday took me by total surprise…

To be honest man.. you were literally immortal to me.. I never thought you’d die.

EVER

I saw the reports and jumped out of my bed. I just knew everyone’s account was being hacked… I was hurt.. full of tears..

To be honest Bean, I’m still full of tears.

I don’t know if I’ll ever shake back from this. You were legit my everything bro.

My reason to keep going.

To continue to grow.

To strive to be better.

To make an impact.

To be better than I was the day before.

To outwork anyone that was in my way.

All of that is because of you.

I guess I’m just doing this to vent Kobe man.

But I’m legit lost.

I was so close to meeting you 2 months ago.. I was 30 feet away.

And now I’ll never have a chance to interact with you.

I just knew that one day in my life when I’m a GM for an NBA team I’d be able to lean on you for advice.

So I just wanna say thank you..

For being my role model,

My superhero,

My legend,

My father figure,

My best friend,

The person I thought could do no wrong.

I never thought I’d have to type this but here we are.

I love you man..

I love Gigi and the rest of those girls like their my own little sisters.

I love Vanessa like she’s my second mom.

So Fly High 24/8,

I’ll continue to uphold the Mamba mentality.

Your impact is forever in my heart and soul.

I love you so much.

You and Gigi have fun getting some shots up there.

Watch over us too man.. please! This world is crazy.

I’ll make you proud, I promise I’ll carry on your legacy.

Sincerely.. a kid who needs his super hero to come rescue him one more time…

--

--