Meet SSA Agent Clara Akwarandu

Blair Husted
SSA School Support
Published in
4 min readNov 8, 2019

One of the most common questions we get at the Student Success Agency is “so… who are your Agents?”

This is one of my favorite questions because I get to brag about our amazing network of high-achieving young adults. Today, I’d like to feature one of the Agents I am proud to have on the SSA Team.

Enter Clara Akwarandu.

Clara is a Senior at The University of Texas at San Antonio majoring in Public Health. After college, Clara would like to continue her education in a dual degree MPH/MBA program, then go on to get her DrPH.

Clara’s north star is to improve access to healthcare for minority women and children in underserved locations. She envisions herself working behind the scenes to improve diversity in the healthcare workplace to better serve these populations and creating clinics and health education programs in local community centers.

I recently had the opportunity to talk with Clara and ask her about her role as an SSA Agent.

What drew you to become an Agent with SSA?

I joined SSA when I was a Peer Mentor for first-year students on campus. I realized very quickly that I loved helping people and that I had a lot of experience to offer!

What is your favorite part of being an Agent?

My favorite part of being an Agent is working alongside other like-minded individuals who only want to see our students achieve their goals and dreams; it’s a very motivational work culture!

How do you make a difference in your students’ lives?

In the same way that my Team Lead and Director of Agent Success enthusiastically engage and support me, I work to do the same with my students. I try to bring as much positivity and light as possible in our virtual communications, so they know that I can be a safe and supportive person for them. My favorite thing that I’m working on right now is building resumes with all of my 50-something students! I know the importance of networking, branding, and marketing yourself so that the door to opportunities is open for you. It’s also a great way to learn more about each of my students and understand their dreams based on their extracurricular activities, volunteer hours, part-time jobs, and leadership organizations! It also means a lot to me that I can share my own resume and experiences, and foster an environment where we’re both learning from each other. My students are doing things that I didn’t even know high schoolers could do! My students are superstars, and it’s my job to have themselves and the world see them that way so they can be successful in whatever they put their minds to!

Do you have a favorite student story?

My favorite story is when I was helping one of my current students with her college essays. She ended up winning a scholarship that allowed her to attend one of seven schools across the nation for free! Though it was a small part, I was so proud and happy to be a part of her success. Daniela is now a busy college freshman growing into herself and living her best life, I’m so proud of her! Check out her story HERE!

Clara’s Growth Mindset

One of the most impressive parts of Clara to me is her growth mindset. Clara recently attended the Forbes Under 30 Summit as a Scholar, so out of curiosity, I asked Clara what other leadership development opportunities she had taken advantage of in college. She proceeded to send me the following list:

  • 2019 Forbes Under 30 Summit (Detroit, MI)
  • 2019 Social Justice 4 San Antonio (San Antonio, TX)
  • 2019 Southwestern Black Student Leadership Conference (College Station, TX)
  • 2019 Civil Rights & Social Justice Experience Road Trip (TX, MS, AL, GA, TN)
  • 2018 Texas Women’s Conference (Austin, TX)
  • 2018 Texas Tribune Festival (Austin, TX)
  • 2018 IMPACT National Conference (Dayton, OH)
  • 2018 Leadership Takeover (San Antonio, TX)
  • 2017 LeaderShape Institute (New Braunfels, TX)

I guess I need to up my personal development game!

Clara, thank you for all the work you do in the Student Success Agency. You are not only changing the lives of your students, but also the lives of future generations.

--

--