The Right Amount

Warren Ashley
ssntl
Published in
1 min readOct 19, 2017

“It is not the man who has too little, but the man who craves more, that is poor.”
— Seneca

There’s probably a lot in your life.

A lot of things:

  • clothes
  • electronics
  • books

A lot of media:

  • tv shows
  • social media
  • blog posts
  • podcasts
  • sporting events
  • music
  • news

A lot of people:

  • family
  • friends
  • coworkers

A lot of activities:

  • eating
  • drinking
  • exercising
  • socializing
  • working
  • creating

A lot of thoughts. A lot of emotions.

Did you choose the level of each, or did it just…happen?

Is it the right amount?

In most cases, I find that there’s a lot more than I consider ideal, and I’ve been practicing having less in my life. Less leads to tangible benefits like reduced clutter, spending, and time-wasting. It also helps me be more mindful. Relaxed. Focused.

I’m still trying to find the right amount of all the the above in my life. I find more very habitual and comfortable, and I fall into that pattern when I’m not mindful, but I’m working to find the right balance, which is usually less.

Please 👏 if you liked this post, and share to help others find it! Feel free to leave a comment below.

Originally published at ssntl.com.

--

--