Students and professors struggle to cope with the effects of virtual learning throughout the pandemic

Emily Zook
The St. Pete Beat
Published in
5 min readApr 26, 2021

Students and professors were left packing up their laptops as COVID-19 cases began to circle communities and college campuses. Now nearly a year into the pandemic, this switch to online learning has led to challenges in their education.

“My colleagues and I worry about the well-being of our students, especially those new to our program,” said Monica Ancu, professor at USF, St. Petersburg campus. “We worry about how to support our students, how to find out what they need for their academic success and how to provide those resources. It’s definitely very stressful.”

Professor Ancu feels that in-person discussion is essential for successful learning and that students have been missing out on this since the shift away from on-campus instruction.

“I worry that learning suffers because, while the online medium is excellent at communicating information, it cannot replace real-life classroom discussion which is one of the main ways we learn,” said Ancu. “I also feel students struggle being alone and learning alone.”

According to Medical Education and Simulation, Centre for Medical Sciences Education, these changes in education have affected assessment taking, international student opportunity, and even career opportunities for graduating students.

“They are experiencing major interruptions in teaching and assessment in the final part of their studies. They may likely graduate late due to the postponement of the final examination. Further, the graduates are going to face the severe challenges of the global recession caused by the COVID-19 crisis.”

Some professors are even dealing with online platforms for the first time. Professor Casey Peterson has prior experience in technology but knows the switch has been a learning curve for some of his colleagues.

“I like to think that my approach to a suddenly-online classroom was at least a bit ahead of the curve. I’m into technology and operating in a web-based environment,” said Peterson. “I shudder to think what student experiences might have been like in classes with instructors who have never taught online or who aren’t as familiar with the tools afforded to them by the University.”

USF St. Petersburg Mass Communications Senior, Annalise Anderson, can attest to feeling the effects of this shift and has even noticed how it has affected her classmates.

“It’s certainly impacted the amount of time I’m sitting in front of a screen, which has been exhausting,” said Anderson. “I’ve seen it have similar effects on my classmates. People seem far less interested in classes and everyone just looks and sounds tired. Those of us who are in our final months of our degree seem to be eager to just get it over with.”

Mass Communications junior, Hannah Simpson, didn’t find the switch to online learning difficult and has coped with the changes, but has also observed negative effects upon her classmates.

“I have seen it affect my classmates in a few ways,” Simpson said. “It’s easier to sleep in or skip class completely when you know it’s just a few clicks away.”

Upon asking several professors how these online classes have affected instruction, each of the three commented on the concept of students keeping their webcams off. Face-to-face interaction is already limited with virtual platforms, but the option to turn your webcam off leads to even more of a lack of interaction.

“Even in live meetings I don’t get to meet my students because most keep their cameras off and interaction with me and their classmates is limited,” Ancu said.

Not only has this affected professors and their pupils, but it has also taken a toll on extracurricular activities and the engagement of students outside of their schoolwork.

According to Anderson, many leaders of these university organizations are struggling to find ways to continue to keep students interested, even if they are no longer on campus.

“It’s understandably had a negative impact on student engagement, which leaves student organization leaders with a significant burden in trying to come up with new ways that will attract new and returning members,” Anderson said. “Consequently, students’ lack of interest in extracurriculars will leave them without substantive experiences that normally help to prepare them for life and a career after college.”

Although these changes have caused a shift in the typical daily life of a college student, many have been adapting to these new “norms” and finding ways to assure they are staying productive.

“I’ve had to make myself follow a routine in order to stay mentally present and motivated,” Anderson said. “I make sure to wake up early and follow my morning routine before getting to my computer. I purchased a planner and always try to write everything down at least a week ahead. I take breaks to get outside, be active, and have time for myself to recharge.”

While Anderson has created a routine for herself, Simpson has also set an incentive to assure that she is still participating in class, even if her classmates aren’t.

“Some things I’ve tried to incorporate to help have been making sure I’m actually engaging in class. If I don’t say at least one thing in class or clarify a question virtually, I am already drifting and behind. It takes more effort than to do this in-person, but it definitely pays off,” Simpson said.

Professors are also finding that staying in touch with each other and communicating the struggles in their online classrooms has helped lighten the load.

Casey Peterson advises that both professors and students stay on top of their work, as it can be easy to put obligations off in these virtual situations.

“It requires folks to be more conscious of their time management than they would if, say, they were anchored to a seat in a classroom for two and a half hours,” Peterson said. “If you’re a student, don’t fall behind on your attendance and coursework. And if you’re an instructor, don’t fall behind on your grading.”

While the pandemic has brought negative effects upon university staff and their students, many of them are finding ways to stay positive during this time of uncertainty.

“When I get overwhelmed or stressed, I try to remind myself of the facts of everything happening around us,” Simpson said. “I try to remind myself that we are going through an actual pandemic and the entire world is going through it. Knowing I’m not alone in feeling the way I do has been the biggest help.”

--

--

Emily Zook
The St. Pete Beat

Junior studying Journalism & Digital Communication at The University of South Florida