‘Women Beware Women’ Was Written By A Man

Sarah Thomas
ST Storyteller
Published in
7 min readSep 23, 2020

--

Photo by Giammarco Boscaro on Unsplash

Where do you sit on the women beware women line?

The Jacobean writers in Seventeenth Century England dished us up a delectably bloody and thrilling set of plays. Murder, incest and betrayal. They are stories that could give Game of Thrones a run for its money.

Sin, what thou art, these ruins show too piteously.

Two kings on one throne cannot sit together;

But one must needs down, for his title’s wrong.

So where Lust reigns, that prince cannot reign long.

But really, ‘women beware women’? We haven’t even made the final lines of the play.

Written in the 1600s, we might forgive Thomas Middleton if only the sentiment wasn’t alive and well and with us now.

And worse, sometimes I find myself joining in.

Recently I saw a twitter conversation about the girlfriend of a horrid leader. I’ve seen similar posts about the wives of certain other wretched leaders.

I’ve probably echoed these kinds of thoughts in conversations myself.

How could she lie with this beast and live with herself?

Right! How could she? I nodded my head and hit the like button.

--

--

Sarah Thomas
ST Storyteller

Storyteller, ex playwright (produced), award winning screenwriter, always writing. Creating story-based content for businesses. Based in Aberdeen.