France has just won the World Cup, but I hate both my TV and Internet providers now.

Wilhem Pujar
2 min readJul 12, 2018

--

It should have been an amazing afternoon. I had everything setup for a prime experience— food, drinks, friends, family and a shiny new TV that makes Neymar’s rolls even smoother than their real counterpart.

But I forgot to prevent the sworn enemy of live sports events from sabotaging my FIFA World Cup Final experience: IT.

Axelle Lemaire, our previous Secretary of State for Digital Affairs, had tried to warn me in the past.

The Network

They say the lagging performance of an online service is the top reason why users try out competitors. But in the midst of the FIFA World Cup Final, the performance failures and severe tardiness of my online TV streaming app took inconvenience to a whole new level.

I won’t drop names but it sure dropped frames.

Out of Kylian Mbappé’s 3 goals, the greatest World Cup performance ever done by a 19 years old player in the competition, I missed the first one as I was erratically looking for a more reliable provider across Europe, I experienced the second one more than a minute later than my neighbors, and I’ve had the incredible chance to witness the last one in 360p on 4K screen. My eyes…

4K

Can you imagine the pain of being left out of a celebration involving your entire country? Of knowing that the “currently” developing action will lead to a goal just because you hear everybody screaming while you’re still holding your breath?

Awful service levels have screwed what should have been a once-in-a-lifetime football experience.

I should be happy but I’m not.

But at least, I know that these guys are trying to make the shortcomings of the network less painful using the power of the Blockchain.

ABOUT US

Stacktical helps online service providers automatically compensate customers for slowdowns, downtimes and unresponsive customer support using DSLA, the Decentralized Service Level Agreement token.

To learn more about the Stacktical platform and purchase DSLA tokens, go to stacktical.com

--

--

Wilhem Pujar

CEO at Stacktical ⚡️ The 1st Service Level Management platform with Automatic Downtime Compensation. $DSLA #blockchain