Week1: Intro to Fab — Handmade Flashlight Ring

Stacy Yuan
Stacy’s ITP Blog
Published in
3 min readSep 10, 2019

Inspiration

The story that our teacher, Ben, made his first flashlight for his grandmother because she cannot see the keyhole in the dark inspires me. If the flashlight can wear as a ring, people can see the keyhole clear while they try to open the door in the dark easily. Therefore, we can use both hands without using any hands to hold the flashlight.

Design

Design for the flashlight ring

Material

I got the wires, LED, white cardboard from the lab and the battery from a kindly faculty in ITP. The iron wires were bought from the shop Michaels and the flower cardboard from my Lancôme package. The rest of the material which I didn’t mention wasn’t used in the end.

Process

First, I cut two circles of the cardboard to make the shape of the ring.

To put our battery inside the ring, we have to dig a hole in the middle.

Now we can put the battery in!

Then I put the LED and stuck the negative side in the hole.

To make a switch for the ring, I designed the flower cardboard as my flashlight switch. You can switch by open or close the flower cardboard. Also, I used the wire to go through the cardboard and connected it to the positive of the LED. Therefore, if we close the flower, the wire will contact the battery, and the LED will light up.

Put two pieces of cardboard together( the battery one and the switch one)
Weld the wires together

I used the tape to cover all around the ring to protect it. Then, the ring part I used the iron wire and stuck it under the cardboard by using the glue gun.

Now, it’s almost done!

Lastly, I use the pen and liquid paper to decorate the ring!

--

--