Typography — Redesign an airline boarding pass

Stacy Yuan
Stacy’s ITP Blog
Published in
2 min readSep 18, 2019

Have you ever had a problem with can’t see the important information, such as boarding gate, boarding time, and seat clearly on the boarding pass like this?

It’s essential to make the information clear for the passenger. Most of the passenger only care about which gate they have to go, when is the boarding time and where is the seat. If I redesign the boarding pass, I will make this information more clearly on it. Here is my redesign airline boarding pass.

Redesign airline boarding pass

Typefaces

I used Oswald typeface for all title words and Source Sans Pro typeface for the content because I feel these typefaces are clean and bright, which makes the boarding pass look simple.

Oswald
Source Sans Pro

Font Size

The size of the font, I used 12px for the title,14px for some content and 18px for most of the content. 24px for the name and 40px for the important information. I especially used 48px for the seat at the right side, which passenger will keep it when they get on the plane.

Grid System

Having a grid system makes people easy to read and find the information they need. Let’s look at the original version. There is no grid system, and the line spacing is too close, which makes it harder to read.

The original version without a grid system

--

--