Online chronicles at Saandeepani Academy

Tanuka Dutta
Staff You Trust
Published in
17 min readJul 4, 2020

This is a guest post by the team at Saandeepani Academy. It is a chronology of events, thoughts and responses to the ongoing COVID-19 crisis that has impacted our schools, written by teachers, students, parents and the school management.

I couldn’t include all the write-ups, but reading each of them was very touching — the students missing the normalcy of physical school but making the best of the situation, the teachers voicing their apprehension and anxiety about how they would adapt to the new medium, and the school founder’s worries and plans to cater to an uncertain future.

Prarthana Gupta, School founder, 12th March 2020

What started as a localised flu outbreak in Wuhan is now threatening the entire world. School closure has been announced in Bangalore. I do a quick mental check on what this means for the students and staff of Saandeepani.

Fortunately, our first batch of Grade 10 has written all their CBSE board exams. And this being the last month of the academic year, the syllabus, too, is completed for all other grades. Assessments at Saandeepani are continuous and formative in nature, so conducting end-of-year summative exams is not a necessity as evidence of learning. We only need to figure out a way to conduct online classes for our next batch of Grade 10 for a few weeks to give them the much needed head start before the academic year officially begins.

Muthulakshmi RTS, High school Science teacher, 5th April 2020

I was following the Coronavirus crisis from its initial localized spread to becoming an epidemic and then taking on the proportion of a pandemic. While we were continuing our regular classes during mid-February, social media was flooded with a lot of concerning news/information about the crisis, some of which were obviously rumours and fake. Initially, I wondered how a seasonal flu can be a matter of so much botheration.….then came the reality.

One sudden day in March, schools were asked to shut, exams were cancelled and students till grade 8 were all promoted. We as teachers started to worry about how to continue with the classes for secondary grades. I recollect the day, when Prarthana ma’am came to our staff room to discuss various online platforms as an option to resume classes. The concern I noticed in the eyes of fellow colleagues on how to cope with such an unprecedented situation, is still fresh in my mind. But we had no choice, we had to build internal competency, go through the steep learning curve and finally adapt to this new normal way of teaching…aka…. online classes through web interface.

Even though I have 10 years of corporate experience where meeting global counterparts through virtual meetings was normal, meeting (& teaching) my dear students through a 17’’ screen didn’t look appealing to me. Till that time as a teacher, I had used online tools and search engines only for finding or creating worksheets and quizzes, but this was something new.

As we decided to initiate trial classes for grade 10, the challenge I thought would be to explain concepts without using a board and without a practical demonstration. That’s when I started to browse for online teaching materials and realised that being a science teacher is a boon. All the teaching materials and innovative practices were available online….thanks to my peer teachers and software friends around the globe. What is it that’s not available online? From virtual interactive classes, e-version of books, interactive boards, virtual labs — all available at the click of a button.

Virtual lab experiment: States of matter

Prarthana Gupta, School founder, 20th April 2020

As always, there’s good news and there’s bad news!

Bad news first — the virus is showing no sign of abating. The world and our education system needs to quickly rejig.

And, the good news — one month of online classes seem to have gone well for Grade 10. Teachers and students have quickly adapted to technology.

But is this something we can continue over an extended period of time? Can we replicate this model with younger students too?

Prarthana Gupta, School founder, 3rd May 2020

It is evident that school will not physically reopen in June, we need to gear up for virtual schooling across K to 10. How will this work? Are we looking at just substituting things — books with digital content, black boards with jamboards, classrooms with Google meet and continue delivering the same content? Or should we look at this as an opportunity to redesign pedagogy and focus on building students’ skills to make them more independent learners? What about the number of hours of engagement, amount of screen time? What about access? I know that a substantial proportion of our students do not have access to devices and/or hi-speed internet. And finally, what about training? Training teachers, students and parents, getting them on board this new interface.

The last 3 weeks have been about tirelessly working towards answering these questions, interfacing with every single parent to assess digital access and their readiness to go online, evaluating online platforms, redesigning delivery of curriculum, creating SOPs for virtual schooling, creating training modules for teachers, students and parents. Tomorrow the teachers come back to work after the summer break. Are we ready???

Planning and scheduling classes

Janai Kharkongor, Student of Grade 9, 12th May 2020

When I was first informed about online classes, a lot of questions came to my mind. How will we ask the teacher questions? What do I do if I need to use the bathroom in the middle of a class? Will we be studying one subject the whole day or will the teacher switch from time to time? My online classes haven’t started yet and unfortunately the questions remain unanswered. And because of the curiosity and unanswered questions, I am getting quite disturbed. Writing down my expectations of the online classes should hold my curiosity for some time at least.

Okay, so here goes. We will be given a login ID to enter the meeting and (hopefully) if my internet is fast the login shouldn’t take too long. I’ll be sitting on a chair in my room for the whole morning, but that won’t be so bad considering that’s what I do most of the time. On my table I’ll have my computer with ear- phones plugged in and I’ll be taking notes as the teacher speaks. Hopefully we will be given breaks to get a snack or use the bathroom. After the break, I will get back to my desk and the teacher will resume the class.

Now all this sitting in the same position for the whole day seemed a bit much to me at first. But then I thought about it and realized that it might actually be quite fun. Or not. It could also be boring. But reconnecting with my friends and my teachers after a long time? That would be the main thing. And not just for me but for my teachers and friends alike. This will be a new experience for all of us and hopefully it’ll turn out to be a good experience.

Virtual classrooms using Google Meet

Jayanti Roy, Principal and High School English Teacher, 10th June 2020

I never thought I would enjoy teaching English online as I feel technologically challenged with anything to do with computers. However, I realized it was nothing but a mental block which I needed to overcome. I now enjoy the online interaction with students in my language classes.

I looked at five important ideas before starting online classes.1) Technical training for Online teaching 2) Designing plans to ensure effective learning 3) Understanding the learning goals and modifying annual plans accordingly 4) Understanding the process/norms of conducting classes 5) Shifting the focus of learning from classrooms to self-learning.

Listening, speaking, writing down one’s thoughts and actively participating in discussions is integral to teaching language. This is done quite easily in interactive classrooms but now I had to change my understanding of what entails language learning. For quite some time, I have been using the internet for browsing class activities, assignments etc. With Online Teaching, I was able to use a variety of internet based material, making it possible to plan more diverse lessons with the help of YouTube videos, University websites and Khan Academy material, to make student learning more long term and effective. Besides this, grammar worksheets have become fun as some websites like the British Council and OWL Purdue University have interactive grammar worksheets which make it enjoyable.

Lessons are planned with elements of inquiry based and blended learning to ensure effective learning and at the same time engaging. I love pushing animated videos of lessons for the children to enjoy. It is easy to upload files and set assignments with answers in Google Forms.

Students have the freedom to complete it within a specified time. They take responsibility for their own work and learn at their own pace. The assignments are mostly submitted on time with fairly well-written answers which makes me sure that they are achieving their goals. Learner engagement and achievement certainly seems higher now as they are more focused, participate actively and have gained confidence in expressing themselves freely.

However, at the end of the day, I miss the camaraderie of the physical school and the fun that is present in a classroom.

Lathika P, High School History Teacher, 18th June 2020

Online teaching versus regular teaching

Not an easy comparison at all. Thirty-seven years of physical teaching in a classroom and the confidence I had built in myself may have helped me to go through these four months of virtual teaching. But even now when I look back, I wonder how I am managing it. The first day was the easiest because I already knew how to enter a zoom classroom and present the PPT I had already made. I was very sure of my skill as a teacher. The children also helped me by cooperating. In forty minutes it was over and I was practically speechless. I could do it without a stumble.

But the whole problem started when the actual training started. Loom, Dualless, G-meet etc. I was floored and fell into a depression. Will I be able to do it or should I quit? The support my bosses and colleagues gave me held me up. The technical team with their day and night support pulled me out of my ignorance of computer operations.

Classes are going on, now I can use loom, jam board and other extensions without much difficulty. But before every class, I am nervous. Will my internet work? Will children be visible? Will I come across some unknown problems? But still I have the great satisfaction that at the age of sixty-nine “I DID IT, YES I DID IT.”

Am I enjoying it? No, a long nooooooo………..

I want my physical classes back, see eye to eye with my children, pat them on their backs and most of all see them blossom into teenagers. Yes, I want the pleasure of my regular classes.

Tech support — holding it all together in the background!

Ritu Arora, Math teacher, 20th June 2020

I am a mathematics teacher and personally found it difficult without a whiteboard initially, but after some practice I got well versed with the Zoom virtual board and was able to write and explain to my students with clarity. But when my school, like many other schools shifted the platform from Zoom to Google meet (or MS teams) due to security reasons, I was again in a little bit of trouble as using the Google jamboard on the desktop was very difficult, particularly while writing solutions to some complex problems.

I initially tried to use an actual whiteboard, but couldn’t the camera angles right or if the bandwidth was low the image became pixelated. The solution I found was using 2 devices. The main device (laptop or desktop) is used for the meeting interface with the students. The second device (an iPad or tab) is used as the whiteboard which cast on to the main device. Both chrome and IOS have casting apps which work very well.

Google Jamboard, Show Me Board and GeoGebra are also very good. They possess many features that are essential for teaching math. Thanks to this I am able to teach various concepts to students with clarity.

GeoGebra

Gahana R, Grade 10 student, June 2020

I feel that physical classes have many more advantages than online classes.

In a physical class students have more time to meet their friends and teachers and more time to complete their work in class with the help of friends and teachers. Many students learn better through face to face interaction. Online classes might be effective for some students but many students learn by seeing, doing, and interacting.

Online classes do have a number of advantages. These classes teach us to be more independent and teach some more life skills and also introduce us to the technical world. However they have a number of disadvantages too. Sometimes you don’t understand a few difficult topics just at one go. They also create a sense of isolation and also sitting in front of the screen for many hours together might have some effect on your health.

Traditional classes are more suitable for young children, teenagers. It helps the students and teachers to know each other in a better way, active learning and many more.

I prefer physical classes but in such a situation the world is facing, we need to slowly get used to online classes.

Kannada class online

Janai Kharkongor, Grade 9 student, June 2020

So the online classes have started and it’s not exactly what I was expecting. I was right about sitting in the same position all morning. I was right about the teacher giving us notes. I was right about a lot of things actually. But there were some things that I didn’t expect.

Like PE for example. Who thought there was going to be physical education? Another thing that I wouldn’t have guessed would happen, what’s the presentations by the teachers. They present their computer screen and use that as a virtual blackboard for us all to look at. People have gone to space and I still didn’t think that something like this would be possible.

We do in fact get breaks for using the bathroom and getting snacks. But eating in classes is not permitted. We get an extra long break for lunch. Putting on your webcam is compulsory for all classes. When you’re not speaking your mic should be muted so there is no background noise or echo.

So yeah, there’s nothing much that’s similar. It’s only been a few days and I’m still getting used to this. And it looks like there’s going to be a few months more. But I have to say, despite the slow internet and some system problems, I am still looking forward to these few months. Don’t get me wrong though, I still prefer physical classes and can’t wait for them to start!

Google Jamboard

Hinduja M, Grade 10 student, June 2020

Sydney J. Henry, a famous American journalist once said, ‘the purpose of education is to turn mirrors into windows’. Learning is an essential part of our lives for that is how we adapt, but, the COVID-19 had put a break to our lives, which includes the education system as well.

The stop didn’t seem to be a long one, as we humans have a capability of adapting, we came up with a solution, THE ONLINE CLASSES.

At Saandeepani Academy For Excellence, we were invited to attend the classes on zoom. Our group was the first-ever class in our school to be attending online to get prepared for the board exams. It was a unique experience for us. But for the first few weeks, I found it difficult to concentrate. After the summer vacations, we joined a new platform, google meet. I then started finding it very comfortable.

Neither was it stressful, as we had yoga, art PE and a 20-minute break to help us retain our enthusiasm. In fact, these classes aren’t that bad. I also learnt new skills from my friends which I never knew. I could access education no matter the location.

Although I really miss my beloved friends and teachers, The online platform has helped me realise that no matter what comes ahead, we must never stop learning and adapting.

Aldrich P.J. Grade 10, June 2020

The online learning experience as a student for me has been a great experience. I sometimes find myself more interested in doing my assignments and I feel like I’m working 2x times more compared to going to school. Due to the online learning I get motivated to do my assignment. Since everything is digital it is easy to plan for the week by using Google Calendar

But the only issue I face is the home environment since when we used to go to school our it has a working atmosphere but at home it is a chilled atmosphere. I am more comfortable with the online platform since I am an tech geek and a tech enthusiast. I knew there will be a day where we don’t need to travel to school.

During the days of physical school my diet was horrible. There were days I would skip breakfast so that I wouldn’t miss the school bus. Then end up being sick. The only issue I face is wearing the school uniform during the online classes and the network speed sometimes.

I do have to say that whenever I’m at school, I always feel nervous in class. Now that I’m at home learning, I don’t feel nervous. From my online learning experience right now, I would choose more online learning in the future because, in an online platform, a classroom is a learning environment. Also, I feel like it’s easier to communicate with my classmates/groups for projects, teachers, and principal.

Learning via the online platform is best for me.

Science class: Forms of energy

Remya, Grade 4 and Grade 8 Parent, 2nd July

As a parent, I was concerned when the schools were closed due to Covid-19 and questions loomed large about their reopening. Though academics was definitely a concern, I was more worried about the SEL (social & emotional learning of my children. While Sandeepani provided them a perfect environment to set positive goals, manage emotions and maintain relationships, I wasn’t sure about how the online learning process could encompass all of this.

However, when the online classes started, I was pleasantly surprised to see the same amount of rigor, commitment and involvement from the teachers to ensure a caring and participatory learning environment for the kids. My children were very enthusiastic and looked forward to meeting their teachers, friends and peers every day.

They were upset when the online classes were stopped abruptly. However, the value of resilience taught at school, helped them bounce back . And when online classes started again under the new guidelines, they participated with renewed vigor.

Today, the discussions, activities and classroom conversations are something they look forward to every morning. And the smile on their faces after their online classes, makes my day!

Latha M, Head of Primary and a Grade 9 Parent, 2nd July

The pandemic struck us within no time, leaving us all scrambling to respond to its unwieldy demands. In my capacity as the Head of Primary, at Saandeepani, I was forced to swiftly respond to the challenges posed by the pandemic and provide strategic direction to the Primary School to ensure smooth transition into online teaching. Amidst all this busy-ness, I almost completely overlooked the fact that it was going to be a first for my child too!! This supposedly nonchalant attitude, as a parent, could have been due to my long standing association (both as an employee and a parent) with the school, and the trust that it has earned owing to its unwavering commitment towards student learning and well-being.

Yet, a plethora of thoughts shrouded my mind as the inevitable drew closer, on how my 15-year-old would cope and how I as a parent would take to it. I wondered if this online setting would deprive my child of a normal school experience? Like, continued learning in a positive learning environment and being disciplined in managing their time and assignments, along with the fun aspects of a teenager’s school life, like, hanging out with friends, indulging in a careless chatter, a friendly banter, a joyous laughter, a funny prank, confiding in a trusted friend, exchanging those looks of boredom during a class, moments spent working together, etc.

However, I was pleasantly surprised to see my child’s enthusiasm for online classes grow by the day! The school, true to its student-centric philosophy, put students first, as evident in its smooth transition planning; the creative schedules, pedagogy, and assessment design; and its continued emphasis on socio-emotional and physical health of its students.

It has been six weeks now, and I am delighted to see that the children are doing everything that they would normally do in a physical classroom, virtually!! They are actively engaged in their learning, preparing for virtual assemblies, planning class projects, sharing responsibilities, supporting and appreciating each other, agreeing/disagreeing with peers, having a hearty conversation on a random topic with their teachers, clarifying their doubts, finishing assignments independently, eagerly awaiting their ART/PE sessions, looking all serene meditating during a yoga class, the CTP pandemonium :-)), and the list goes on!!

This connectedness with the teachers and peers is so heartening to see! I strongly believe that feelings and emotions play a substantial role in how students approach learning and on what is being learned. School holds a significant place in a child’s life for the diverse experiences it offers, that have a lasting impact on their lives. It creates a context for them to develop their socio-emotional and personal attributes which influence their learning behaviour in all aspects of their lives.

I am truly grateful to the entire school community for ensuring a “NORMAL” school experience for my child during these strangely uncertain times.

Prarthana Gupta, School founder, 3rd July 2020

It seems like the longest and yet the shortest three months ever. The longest because a lot has happened — so much unlearning and relearning, and the shortest because each day seems to blend into the next at lightning speed.

Where do we stand after 3 months? I can proudly say that we have managed to stay on task. We have successfully navigated the digital world, engaged with our students and been able to take teaching-learning from our homes straight into theirs. Not just fulfilling academic goals, we have been able to retain the all important social and emotional connect with our students in these times of extreme social isolation through regular circle time and daily class-teacher periods. Aerobics, PE, yoga too have been incorporated, giving the students the much needed physical exercise while the dance and art teachers have kept the creative juices flowing.

The questions that remain are — Is this a sustainable model? Can virtual school replace physical school? The digital medium has freed us from the shackles of outdated textbooks, fixed class periods, fixed grouping by age, fixed curriculum. But can it replace physical interaction with teachers and peers?

Once the crisis is over, it will be wise to take the best of both worlds and formulate a blended approach, where the digital medium is used to support classroom learning, to customise content for individual needs, while the physical school continues to provide the human and social-emotional element.

This crisis may just be the catalyst that was needed to spark the change.

To read about a day at Saandeepani Academy in pre-COVID times see this post: Learning at Saandeepani.

Photo credit: Team Saandeepani

--

--

Tanuka Dutta
Staff You Trust

Founder, Staff You Trust — a community of small, independent schools