On Mentorship

Shaza Hakim
Stampede
Published in
3 min readMar 1, 2017

Recently, I had doubts of my capability to mentor people. I’m not the most patient person. I fumbled at explaining things in fewer words (as you will see). I also ask Why a lot (which I totally have Linda Aidiel to blame if she wasn’t so proud).

The mentorship feedback that I get was I expect too much, I expect them too fast, I asked exhausting questions and I was unable to give clear and prescribed instructions such as “do it this way” or “follow these steps”.

My favourite tips to become a better designer? Read and read a lot. What an absolute bore. Isn’t it easier to lurk on Dribbble?

But it’s absolutely my fault.

I didn’t have a mentor when I first started. I sorely wished I had. I often said my first initial years of learning to design was painful. I had no other option but to learn the hard way, by trial and error.

When you are running a company at the same time, trial and error means you lose money. And it wasn’t much money to begin with. Worse, you lose people’s confidence in you. Painful, mortifying AND broke at the same time.

Which is why I think a mentorship is a conscious gift from one professional to the other. You don’t pay for mentorship. You earn it. Sometimes you earn it by working in a company (and your seniors mentor you). Sometimes someone recognizes your spark and thought the rest of the world will be better off if that spark flies in the right direction.

When you have a mentor, in gaming term, you have been given a cheat code. The cheat code will not tell you what to do, but it will enable you to go God Mode (or build mega mansion on The Sims). Suddenly you do what your character is not supposed to do at that level. While every other NPC is complaining they had an arrow to the knee, you’re sauntering along killing monsters far beyond your initial reach. Deux Ex Machina swoops in and works in your favour. Gandalf reaching Helm’s Deep just at the right time on the fifth day. You are unstoppable.

So to those of you who have mentors in the industry, be absolutely hungry. Learn and take everything you can from their experience and wisdom. Understand that their questions are far from criticism, but to help you be able to ask more of these questions yourselves. If they don’t give you set instructions, it’s because it is far more important for you to prescribe your own medicine than be given one. If they expect too much and too fast, count your blessings. People don’t expect that from those they don’t believe in.

To my mentors, I am grateful and indebted to your wisdom, knowledge and faith. I am inspired and look forward to learn more, answer tough questions and exceed your expectations everyday.

--

--

Shaza Hakim
Stampede

Partner + designer at Stampede. A bibliophile, a coffee purist and a violinist in training.