Stand with Me

Gavin Grimm
Stand With Gavin
Published in
2 min readFeb 23, 2017

If you had asked me when I was first starting how I imagined my high school experience would go, never in a million years would I have guessed it would go like this.

When I reintroduced myself to my classmates as Gavin at the beginning of my sophomore year, not much had changed. I was the same as I was the year before -- short, messy hair and exclusively male clothing. The only differences were my name, pronouns, and comfort. I was infinitely happier presenting myself authentically.

My teachers and classmates respected my identity and called me “he” and “him” when they were talking about me. And, after checking with the principal to make sure it was okay, I started using the boys’ restroom like every other guy in school. Everything was normal. And for a couple of months, nobody seemed to mind.

Then suddenly the school board decided I couldn’t use the boys’ room after all. This is a violation of my right to be treated the same as any other boy at my school. My family, who have always supported me, stood by me as we took my case to court. And now, over two years after it all started, I’m getting ready to take my case to the Supreme Court next month.

This would probably be frightening for any 17-year old. I’m definitely a little nervous. But I’m going to keep fighting — to make sure that the tens of thousands of transgender students just like me, and the thousands more that will come after us, are treated equally, that we have the same rights as our classmates, and that we can use the restrooms that match our gender identities in peace.

You’ll hear more from me, my family, and my great legal team at the ACLU as my case proceeds. I can’t speak for every transgender person in the country, but I know I just want to be treated the same as my classmates. We need your support to make trans equality a reality.

Thank you for your support and kindness.

Gavin Grimm

--

--

Gavin Grimm
Stand With Gavin

18 year old youth activist fighting for equality for transgender students.