The Youngest Guy in the Room

Gavin Grimm
Stand With Gavin
Published in
2 min readApr 27, 2017

Being named to the TIME 100 list was surprising, amazing, and more than a little overwhelming. Going to the official gala was no different.

Being surrounded by so many talented and accomplished people — like Barry Jenkins, Padma Lakshmi, and Linda Sarsour — left me feeling completely starstruck. I’m not an artist, or an actor or a politician. What was I doing around all of these important, famous people? What did I do to deserve this honor?

To be honest, I wasn’t there because of anything extraordinary. All I did was try to use the boys’ restroom like every other guy at my school.

I was there because some people in my hometown of Gloucester, Virginia decided that because I’m transgender I shouldn’t be able to use the boys’ restroom at school. I was there because I didn’t give up fighting for my rights, and my family continued to support me, and the ACLU stepped in to have my back all the way to the Supreme Court.

I was there because even when the Supreme Court sent my case back to wind through the court system some more, I haven’t given up fighting for my rights and the rights of other trans students like me, who just want to be allowed to be ourselves at school and in our communities.

In reality, It’s not about me at all. I was there because of this simple fact: Transgender equality is a civil rights issue. My fight, like dozens of other legal battles playing out across the country, is a fight to be treated equally.

Our opponents say the fight to keep trans people out of single-sex facilities like restrooms or locker rooms is about “privacy” or about “protecting” people.

It’s not.

Our opponents are determined to prevent transgender people from fully participating in public life, in their communities and their schools.

It matters that TIME recognizes this for what it is: not a difference of opinion or a matter of privacy, but a fight for transgender equality.

--

--

Gavin Grimm
Stand With Gavin

18 year old youth activist fighting for equality for transgender students.