I need a cup’a Joe!

Meet Joe Coffee, Standart stockist in New York City 📍

Standart
Standart Journal
3 min readJun 23, 2017

--

Jonathan Rubinstein, Joe Coffee co-founder

Who are we speaking with?

Jonathan Rubinstein, Joe Coffee co-founder.

What’s your favourite thing about coming to work in the morning?

The excitement of what the day will bring, what new opportunities present themselves, what stores both Joe and wholesale I get to visit, and what old-time regulars I’ll bump into.

New Yorkers know quality and if you prove your worth to them they will celebrate it.

Tell us something you’ve learned while working in this business.

How much of a career coffee can be, having seen hundreds of people grow up through Joe and either stick with us and turn their jobs into careers, or watch them flourish in other coffee jobs.

Whether in their roastery or in one of their now 16 cafés, Joe strives to effect their deeply rooted core value proposition: the desire to build, maintain and strengthen community at every level from producer to customer.

For you, what makes New York City unique?

Everything is unique about New York City, but I’d have to say the people, who are both warm and direct and know exactly what it is they want and how quickly they want it. New Yorkers know quality and if you prove your worth to them they will celebrate it.

Joe Coffee Chelsea

If you had to use one brewing method for the rest of your life …

V60. I almost always choose filter coffee over espresso; I like ease of use, I like to make one cup at a time and not be wasteful. It’s small and compact, and I enjoy the ritual of it very much. I’m hand-grinding so that’s counting as part of my upper body strength exercise every morning. There’s so much muscle memory that I don’t think about.

Other than coffee, what would be the hardest food or drink for you to give up?

Red wine — preferably something natural that’s both complex and comforting.

Joe Coffee Washington Square

Do you remember the first coffee you had that was more than just coffee?

Totally. I visited Barrington Roasting Company in 2003 and they poured me a cappuccino that was like nothing I had ever had, I had never seen latte art, I had never tasted that proportion of milk to espresso, and it knocked my socks off. Prior to that I had never tasted coffee “better” than Starbucks or a bodega coffee, living in NYC where at that time, good coffee didn’t exist.

Points of joe roasting’s buying philosophy: fairness, traceabillity, quality, flexibility and sustainable relationships.

Espresso of filter? Filter

Sweet or savoury? Sweet

London coffee scene or Melbourne coffee scene? New York City!

French press or mokka pot? Ew, gross.

Wizard or Jedi? What? I guess wizard.

City of Countryside? Both, but city for this.

Available for retail

Standart is currently available in over 300 locations across 52 countries. Make a wholesale purchase online through our web shop and become a part of the selection of wonderful independent cafés or bookstores we’re proud to work with.

You can order here.

--

--