Pitchengine #Standout and Nashville Upstart, Ian Munsick

Jason Kintzler
Standouts
Published in
3 min readOct 9, 2017

Like Pitchengine, Ian Munsick was born and raised in Wyoming. But, that’s not why we’re so into this one-of-a-kind talent. It’s because he’s got grit — and one helluva grin.

We first heard Ian when he dropped his impressionable single, “Horses are Faster” — a song he wrote while gazing over the pasture of his family ranch in the Big Horn Mountain basin of Wyoming.

“I came up with the signature riff that was begging to be bowed by my Dad’s fiddle, and I knew I had to write a song to the image I was witnessing,” says Ian.

Ian stood out because of authenticity. His music, his passion — it’s the real deal. And, that’s what it takes in 2018 to be heard.

And heard, he his.

His “One Minute Monday” video series not only has people talking, it’s got them following to the tune of more than 20,000 fans on social media.

When it comes to standing out, Ian gets it.

An acoustic cover of Bruno Mars and cameo duet with Travis Tritt is not something you’re going to find on just any playlist. But, this Nashville upstart isn’t your average cat.

"It’s important to mix it up because as a musician, I’ve been influenced by so many genres/artists that it would be underwhelming and limiting to stick to the same formula every week,” explained Ian.

“Incorporating different instruments and musicians into the #OneMinuteMondays not only allows me to show off my friends around Nashville (and around the world) but also my musical heroes. Most importantly, it’s fun. Mixing up the arrangement makes it a refreshing process that I look forward to every week.”

His video series has done more than show his diversity, it’s also given him perspective on what wins. In order to #standout, you’ve got to put your self out there.

“Before the series, I felt much less connected to the people who listened to my music. Over past months of creating the videos my engagement with fans has gone up significantly, which is really what this whole music thing is all about,” he said.

“Thankfully, I think my listeners have responded very well to me putting myself out there. That’s always the scariest thing about it. Will people like me? Will they like my voice…the lyrics? My hat color?”

Yes, the hat is working for you my friend.

“But at the end of the day, all I can be is me and hope that people respond positively,” he explained.

The power of authenticity can’t be overstated. From a PR perspective, it’s this transparency and genuine influence from passionate people that sets brands apart. If you want coverage, if you want people to write about what you’re doing, you need to be authentic. Because, as Simon Sinek puts it, “People don’t buy what you do, they buy why you do it.”

Check out Ian’s recent Tiny Pitches or visit his One Minute Monday Newsboard and have a listen!

#Standout
Pitchengine Standouts celebrates the creative communicators who are defining PR in 2018. Discover the tactics and talents of people who’ve built influential brands from the ground up.
https://pitchengine.com

--

--

Jason Kintzler
Standouts

Founder/CEO @pitchengine. Challenge. Disrupt. Inspire.