From South Africa to South Korea; Brazil to Belgium & beyond…

Six students reflect on their summer internships abroad through the Stanford Global Studies Internship Program.

Stanford Global Studies
Stanford Global Perspectives
8 min readOct 18, 2018

--

Kyle Lin (Chemistry ‘19)

Internship: Heinrich Heine University (HHU), Germany

This summer, I had the unique opportunity to spend 10 weeks pursuing independent biology research at HHU in Düsseldorf. It was an experience of a lifetime.

As a biochemistry major in my senior year and an aspiring physician-scientist, my scientific work in Germany was especially impactful for me. At HHU, I collaborated with researchers from around the world, not just from Germany, but also many other countries like France, Belgium, Korea, Japan, Australia, and the United States.

With the help of my colleagues, I was able to complete key experiments toward a research endeavor I began at Stanford two years ago. The goal of my project is to engineer a powerful, new tool for studying real-time water flow through living tissues. I believe our work may have the potential to impact broadly how we understand the human body and disease, as well as agricultural crops and drought resistance.

As a classical pianist and philosophy minor, I found it incredible to immerse myself in the language and culture of a country home to so many great thinkers, inventors, and musicians. I have also developed an appreciation for the simple things in German city life: eating pork knuckle and sauerkraut, watching world cup games at local restaurants with my lab mates, and enjoying scenic walks through centuries-old historical sites juxtaposed with modern storefronts and facades.

My time abroad was unforgettable. I will bring back the personal, scientific, and practical skills I acquired abroad to my leadership positions, research, and interactions at Stanford. I have come away with an indelible appreciation for Germany, the city and people of Düsseldorf, and foreign cultures around the world. I hope to continue collaborating internationally in research and medicine as a future physician-scientist.

Jamie Seney (African and African American Studies ’21)

Internship: Lalela, South Africa

Combining art and activism, as Lalela does on a daily basis, is exactly how I hope to spend my life. I was able to develop arts curriculum to be taught in school and after school programs, to research music programs, and of course, I was able to form relationships with some amazing kids. I was fortunate enough to go all over Cape Town and Hout Bay, interacting with locals as I traveled. Everywhere I went I learned something new. And for once, I did not have to worry so much about affording the adventure, as a first-generation, low-income student! I (quite literally) could not have done this without the Global Studies Internship Program.

My understanding of South African history, culture, and politics has deepened significantly from this experience. I have learned about the historical and cultural complexity of Cape Town, including race relations, protest methodology and ideologies, socioeconomic discrepancies, etc. Seeing the aftermath of Apartheid within a couple decades of it ending has proven to be much more holistic than textbook learning in terms of educating myself on the topic.

Beyond the newly learned history and culture of South Africa, I will be taking back new ways of thinking. When it comes to art in particular, I will be pursuing more avenues of expression that are both therapeutic and mentally strengthening. This experience has also convinced me to search for job opportunities in the arts and at non-profits in the future. Overall, being in an environment that encourages artists, forms artists, and is ultimately run by artists, was quite beneficial to my own creative imagination and how I approach solutions to challenges.

Emily Jantz (Mechanical Engineering ‘19)

Internship: Kozo Keikaku Engineering Inc., Tokyo

Through my internship, I learned how generous the Japanese people can be behind a public politeness; I relearned how good the food is; I unlearned the expectation of perfection I thought they would have; and I was surprised by how patient my supervisors were when subject material came up that I was unfamiliar with.

This internship really pushed my abilities as a mechanical engineer. Working closely with my company to develop a fluid simulation software and perform structural analysis were just some of the valuable lessons I learned. Having my own projects that I had to research, develop a solution for, and then present, really gave me a sense of confidence that I am capable of performing valuable work outside of a classroom context.

The department I worked for welcomed me incredibly warmly, taking me on many day trips and dinners in order to expose me to more of the Japanese culture. This opportunity to explore Tokyo and experience Japanese culture was really unparalleled. After this summer abroad, I can honestly say I hope to spend some time living overseas in the future.

Alexander Lin (Management Science & Engineering ‘21)

Internship: Bionexo, Brazil

This past summer, I had an amazing experience working for Bionexo, a digital healthcare procurement solutions company, in Sao Paulo. I worked on product management and launching new innovations focused on supply chain financing and group purchasing organizations. I was also able to embrace the ecosystem of entrepreneurship that exists in Sao Paulo, and learn more about business development as well as mergers and acquisitions.

When I had the time, I was able to travel around different states in Brazil to places like Salvador de Bahia, Minas Gerais, Santos, and Rio. It was amazing going out of my comfort zone — having to live alone, cook dinner every day, meet new people, and navigate the city with limited language skills. It was a challenge, but the warmness of my Brazilian friends and the willingness they had to help me out definitely surprised me and helped a lot.

Having grown up in the U.S., this experience made me more aware of all the privilege that I have, and how grateful I should be for the opportunities that I have at Stanford. I have also grown personally and become more adaptable. I’d love to travel to Brazil again in the future, to catch up with old friends and take part in the amazing entrepreneurship community.

Corie Weiland (International Relations ‘19)

Internship: U.S. Embassy, South Korea

I was drawn to Seoul, South Korea, by both its rich and detailed historical narratives and its evolving presence on the modern world stage. I believe Seoul is a unique city, and I am truly grateful to have interned there at a time when its peninsular and international relations were changing by the day.

During my internship with U.S. Embassy in Seoul, I was able to participate in many community events while supporting foreign service officers and learning the everyday functions of diplomatic work. Some of the events I participated in included the annual U.S. Independence Day Reception in Seoul, where I managed a team of intern volunteers to welcome important international guests, and the Seoul Pride Festival, where I greeted festival participants alongside the U.S. Ambassador to Korea.

At the office, I explored all departments of embassy work and utilized my Korean, Spanish, and Japanese language skills through direct interaction with foreign national visitors. Most importantly, I learned about the importance of a strong and continuous U.S. diplomatic presence in countries the world over.

After spending time with the U.S. Embassy in Seoul, I learned that it’s important to keep my academic interests open, and to be adaptable to new information and new areas of knowledge.

Naz Gocek (International Relations ‘20)

Internship: European Parliament, Belgium

Naz (3rd from left) with ALDE interns and Commissioner Cecilia Malmstrom (middle) and Orsolya Balogh, an ALDE policy advisor (right).

This summer, I worked at the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe Group (ALDE) in the European Parliament (EP), and it was a dream come true.

It was amazing to experience all the things I have studied for years — the EU in action, party politics, EP policymaking, conversations among commissioners and so on. I worked with ALDE policy advisors in the foreign affairs and civil liberties, justice and home affairs committees. My tasks included writing briefs, conducting research, working on ALDE draft resolutions, and taking notes during negotiations. My main areas of focus were migration, foreign relations, rule of law and freedom of the press.

I learned an incredible amount from my advisors, my work, and other EP interns. Additionally, I expanded my knowledge of European institutions and international relations through meetings with ALDE commissioners such as Cecilia Malmström (Trade) and Vera Jourova (Justice, Consumer and Gender Equality), and foreign service members from the U.S. and Canada. I even met Guy Verhofstadt, the leader of the ALDE Group!

Furthermore, I made many close friends from all around Europe. We spent our time outside the parliament watching the world cup, socializing, and traveling. I spent most of my weekends on the road; I visited Antwerp, Ghent, Bruges, the Hague, Paris and Strasbourg. I was genuinely sad when my internship ended, and I look forward to returning to Europe in the near future. My internship confirmed how much I love European affairs. Moreover, it allowed me to network and learn both at work and outside of it. Going forward, I will continue to take EU focused courses and write a thesis based on one of my areas of research in the EP.

The Stanford Global Studies Internship Program offers Stanford students an opportunity to extend classroom learning to immersive, cultural and professional experiences around the world every summer. Positions for 2019 will be posted on the internship program website in December, and applications open in January.

--

--

Stanford Global Studies
Stanford Global Perspectives

A community of 14 Stanford University programs that provides students & scholars with unique opportunities to explore the complexities of our globalized world.