Stanza Employee Profile: Meet Michael Yin!

Eric Drobny
Stanza
Published in
4 min readOct 31, 2018
Mikey’s up top, super excited about…well, you can find out below.

How long have you been at Stanza and what about the business has changed since you arrived?

I’ve worked at Stanza for around 5 months! The main change that I’ve experienced since arriving is the reconstruction of the engineering team into pods, with each pod focusing on specific technical components. This has allowed for a much more streamlined, efficient workflow. This change has been reflected in the general environment here at Stanza as well, as the flow of business has been much more fast-paced, yet organized.

What’s your title and who do you work most closely with?

“Backend Engineering Intern”. I work very closely with the rest of the engineering team (who are all very intelligent and helpful people :) )

What are your primary responsibilities at Stanza?

I’m on the revenue team at the moment so I primarily work on revenue-related front-end and back-end projects.

What were you doing before you came to Stanza?

I was studying engineering at the University of Toronto (I’m going back for my senior year after this internship). I actually really enjoy uni life and I sometimes really miss the drama, the heartbreak, and the tears we all went through, since we always had each other.

What’s the biggest challenge you face on a regular basis?

There are a lot of new technologies I’m working on implementing, many of which can be challenging to learn about and use. Despite that, working on these new technologies is often pretty fun and successfully implementing them can feel very satisfying.

What’s the best part about working at a startup?

My favorite part is that I get to know basically everyone because I love meeting new people and sharing stories.

What are three words that describe working at a startup?

Focus. Determination. Ambition.

What’s your dream job and can you please call me when you get it?

Always had ambitions of being a professional gamer but that dream never really panned out :( Realistically, hopefully get a PhD and become a professor and open a reading/board game cafe on the side.

What’s possible at Stanza in the next few years?

Vertical expansion into different areas, not just sports. I think it would be great if StanzaCal could become a tool that various local teams and clubs could use to schedule events and arrange gatherings.

Our flagship StanzaCal product, as seen on the Steelers’ official schedule page.

What’s the most memorable event — sports, theater, celebration, music, whatever — you’ve ever attended and why?

This is all you need to know: http://www.mikeyin.xyz/#

And now for some fun….

What’s a book or TV show or movie you plan on reading or watching?

I actually really enjoy reading! I’m currently grinding through Oathbringer, the third book in The Stormlight Archive. I’m looking forward reading to volume 4 of Didn’t I Say To Make My Abilities Average? When it drops later in November. Planning to watch the 2018 version of Meteor Garden soon!

Image via Amazon.com

What do you love on your pizza?

Pineapple, Eggs, Ketchup, Japanese Mayo, Salmon

Weirdest thing you’ve ever eaten?

Some fried scorpion/insect-thing I ate in some random village in China. Very crunchy and kinda tasty. Also I ate duck head which apparently is not that common either?!?

Favorite sports team?

Toronto Raptors / Cloud 9

Favorite band or artist?

Changes over time. Some that I can think of off the top of my head are Bladee, Lil Peep, Aimer, Jay Chou, Blackpink.

Favorite lyrics?

“Gary, I’m sorry I neglected you

Oh, I never expected you to run away and leave me

Feeling this empty

Your meow right now would sound like music to me

Please come home, ’cause I miss you, Gary”

If you could master one instrument what would it be?

Piano or violin to appease my parents :(

What country in the world would you love to visit?

Japan because I’ve always wanted to eat Kobe Beef and Michelin-Grade Sashimi. I’d also love to visit some of the cities like Tokyo (Akiba ;) ) or Kyoto. Also I’d be buying one of these Osaka Airport mascot plushies.

If you had it your way, what country would Stanza be located in?

Canada, because then I could live with my cats :(

Name one thing you can’t live without.

My computer.

--

--