Lost Stars Spoiler Free Review

Shoshana Krishel
Star Wars Club @ UCSD
2 min readMar 17, 2021

Lost Stars begins 8 years after Episode 3. It follows Thane Kyrell and Ciena Ree starting from when they are childhood friends on an Outer Rim planet to adulthood as officers in the Imperial army and beyond. Through Thane and Ciena we see many major events of the Original Trilogy and we see how it affects each of them differently. While Thane seems horrified at the acts of the Empire, Ciena remains loyal and thinks the Empire must have good reasons for their actions. The book is very character driven and mostly focuses on the love that these two characters have for each other.

I was not honestly expecting to enjoy this book even though it is so highly praised. I am not usually a fan of romance novels so I was really hesitant to pick this book up. However, I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. The romance felt realistic and I thought the characters were really well written. Normally, I find romance novels kind of boring but I felt that there was a lot of action and plot in this book. I really enjoyed seeing the most famous moments from Star Wars through perspectives that we don’t normally see.

The biggest issue for me was that the book felt too short. There were some things I wish had been explored more in depth. I also thought the book ended too soon and I wasn’t a huge fan of the ending.

Overall, I gave the book 4/5 stars and liked it a lot! The book was really fun and a pretty quick read. It is a good entry point into the Star Wars novels and I would recommend it to any Star Wars fan.

--

--