Spoiler Free Book Review — Dark Disciple

Shoshana Krishel
Star Wars Club @ UCSD
2 min readFeb 15, 2021

Dark Disciple is set about 6 months before the events of Revenge of the Sith. It is based off of 8 episodes of The Clone Wars that were written for season 7 but were never produced because the show was cancelled. At the beginning of the book, the Jedi council decides that the best way to end the war is to assassinate Count Dooku. They send Quinlan Vos to go undercover and obtain the help of Asajj Ventress. I don’t want to say too much more as that might get into spoiler territory.

While I am disappointed that these episodes never made it to TV, I actually think this story might work better as a book than episodes of a TV show. Also 8 episodes would have been a pretty long arc, possibly the longest in the show’s history. It would have been unfortunate if this story line was cut short to make it easier to fit into the show. I really enjoyed the character development of both Ventress and Quinlan. The inner monologue of the characters was one of my favorite parts of the book. We get a lot of insight into Ventress that we don’t get in The Clone Wars. I also thought it was interesting to see more of Quinlan as he plays a fairly small role in The Clone Wars.

I honestly don’t have any complaints about this book. I thought it was really entertaining and engaging. I listened to the audiobook which was fantastic (as per usual for narrator Marc Thompson). I flew this book, I ended up reading the majority of the book in one sitting. This is easily one of my favorite Star Wars novels. I would highly recommend this to fans of The Clone Wars, especially if Ventress is one of your favorite characters. This book left me itching for more canon novels surrounding The Clone Wars. I gave this book 5/5 stars.

--

--