7 Things I Let Go to Become a Better Writer

Two years later, I got a book deal, full-time writing dream life, and over 200 stories sold, and I haven’t looked back since.

Aigner Loren Wilson
At Home Pro Writers

--

7 Things I Let Go to Become a Better Writer by Aigner Loren Wilson article cover. Black person sitting in front of a computer with their hands folded in front of their face as though in deep thought. What to let go to become a better writer. How to become a better writer. Practices of professional writers. How to become a professional writer. Habits to cut as a writer. Habits of writers.
Image by author

Cruel to Be Kind

Not everything that we do in life is necessary or helpful to our end goals and passions. In fact, most of the things we do are just hindrances. We scroll on our phones endlessly. Stay up way too late for our bodies and minds to function properly. Eat foods that make us sick for years and complain about the damages while not doing anything about it.

If we want to make real progress, we have to examine what’s in our lives and what we give time to. Doing that yearly for my career and life has allowed me to leave behind what doesn’t benefit me.

A lot of times, what isn’t benefiting me is related to the people in my life. Who we choose to spend our time with and allow to influence how we see the world is powerful. It’s why I think so many successful people don’t really have a lot of friends—there’s their family and their mastermind group. It keeps the negativity and time-wasting to a minimum.

And like the good writer I am, I followed suit. Years back, when I made the conscious decision to be the writer of my dreams, I examined my life. What…

--

--

Aigner Loren Wilson
At Home Pro Writers

Helping writers tell better stories and sell their work. Work in Better Humans| The Writer| The Writing Cooperative. Follow to level up your writing.