Kiss Me, Kate

On Broadway

Eater and the Starcatcher
Starcatching
2 min readMar 26, 2019

--

My head was not in the best space when I watched this musical, but even if it were, I don’t think I would have been roused. “Kiss Me, Kate” is very much so a Golden Age (1940s to 1960s) musical and I am prefer my theatre heavier than a blue whale during its peak consumption period.

lol@peak consumption period. I want to sarcastically describe my overeating with this phrase from now on — thanks, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration! #noaa.gov

Anyway, back on topic, the show was a fun romp that I got two tickets (one of which I forgot I had) ages ago. Alekhya went with me to see it; we were both too tired for the HipTix afterparty though.

Highlights included seeing the showbiz anthem “Another Op’nin’, Another Show” and the transcendent “Too Darn Hot”, (which I could of sworn was “Too Damn Hot”, but apparently not!) in their original context.

“We Open in Venice” had some clever cloud-choreography. “Tom, Dick, or Harry” needs to be recorded in a studio right now. Hell, I need every song sang by Stephanie Styles (Lois Lane/Bianca) recorded ASAP. The voice she created for the part was just so perfect.

Speaking of perfect, Kelli O’Hara’s voice. I melted every time that woman opened her mouth. Recordings don’t do her justice. The show wasn’t bad, but if it were, it would have been worth it anyway just to hear her sing.

--

--

Eater and the Starcatcher
Starcatching

It’s a pun. This is more of a journal for me than content for you.