StarList by Minh Tri Pham

StarLift Team
StarLift
Published in
2 min readDec 4, 2017

StarList is a short questionnaire by StarLift, in which successful Czech and Slovak developers share their tips and advice. Read the interview with Minh about his career in Facebook.

Minh is a co-organizer of Hack Prague, an international hackathon with top mentors.

What people do you follow on Twitter (or other social media)?

I don’t follow too many people, but I subscribe to a ton of newsletters and listen to many podcasts. Most are on technology and the business of technology.

Newsletters I recommend are: AVC.com, Y Combinator Newsletter, Hacker Newsletter, Benedict Evans, Andreessen Horowitz, and Stratechery.

My favorite podcasts are. How I Built This, Exponent, Masters of Scale

What sources do you use for self-education?

Besides podcasts and newsletters, I read as many books or academic papers as I can. I avoid reading too much news, because these are fleeting and repetitive. I prefer in-depth content. To learn a new language or tool quickly, I use Codecademy.

What events in Czechia and Slovakia would you recommend to developers?

Attend as many hackathons as you can — especially HackPrague! (#shamelessselfpromotion) They are the breeding ground for new ideas, projects, and connections.

What is your life/work motto?

If I can dream it, I can do it.

Are you a young developer from Czechia or Slovakia? Would you like to launch your career in a startup in the US or the EU? Contact us right now via our website or Facebook!

--

--