Oliver Boots

Dan -John- Jordan
Starr Tattoo Supplies
3 min readFeb 20, 2020

Instagram: @oliver_l_boots
Email: oliverbootsart@outlook.com
Studio: Wellfield Road Tattoo Company, Cardiff, CF24 3PB

Ollie started tattooing, around 6 years ago, by renting a space at the back of a barber shop and began by tattooing friends and supporters for free.

Being very passionate about art, Ollie has chosen a trade that he can take with him to peruse some travel in future too.

I have always wanted to travel far and wide, but my passion has always been with art, so I wanted a trade that I could take with me anywhere, tattooing literally came into mind out of nowhere but has turned into the best decision of my adult life.

ARTIST COLOUR & STYLES
Black and Grey, Negatism, Colour, Realism

The work in Ollie’s portfolio can include a variety of blackwork, opaque, colour and mostly black and grey palettes. His styles can be anything from portraits, realism, coverups and his own created style, Negatism.

Negatism is my way of representing the many different forms of mental illness as I understand them in an artistic metaphorical way. I work with my clients to help them interpret their own struggles with mental illness in an artistic way so they can either better communicate to others what they have gone through or continue to go through. It can also be a way for my clients to draw a line in the sand to mark their conscious decision to accept themselves and to make an effort to move forward in a positive way as best they can. Negatism is mental health awareness and healing for myself and others.

Ollie has a unique style with this negatism and that has definitely been strengthened as a artist style through his persistence in black and grey.

I don’t believe in the expression “master of nothing, apprentice of everything” I believe if you work hard enough and have enough passion you can master any and or all styles of tattooing, not to say that I have yet but I do have a few styles that I feel I am very competent at.

Catch all of the new negatism work coming from Ollie and the rest of his black and grey work by following his Instagram page.

--

--