Matthew Payne: Follows His Dreams

Misty Schwartz
Stars In Your Eyes
Published in
6 min readMay 5, 2020

Originally from Bakersfield, California, Matthew Payne grew up in the theater where he appeared in numerous community and musical theater productions. After college, Matthew decided to pursue his dream of working in television and film. In 1998, Matthew moved to Hollywood to pursue his career in film and television. He started when he met producer Suzanne DeLaurentiis and was first cast in the short, “In the Name of the Nameless.” He has also had roles in the award-winning horror film D-RAILED, starring Lance Henriksen and can be most recently seen in the role of Mr. Bensen in the upcoming holiday film, MIDDLETON CHRISTMAS, starring Eileen Davidson and Michael Paré. Matthew holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Liberal Studies and Dramatic Arts from Pacific Union College. In his spare time, he teaches high school drama at a private school in Los Angeles, producing two productions a year with his students. He spends his free time with his beautiful wife of twenty years, their two teenage children, and lovable chocolate lab Moose. Matthew is currently in production on a soap opera-themed comedy where he plays the town villain, Franklin Fowlweather, set to start streaming later this year.

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

It all started one Saturday night, August 26, 1989, — to be exact — in my hometown of Bakersfield, California. My mom had purchased tickets to see the musical “Cats”. Which is the well known Broadway show composed by Andrew Lloyd Webber and lyrics by Trevor Nunn, based on a poem by T.S. Eliot. Musical theater wasn’t anything new to me since I had been doing community theater since I was young. However, there was something truly magical about that performance of “Cats”. It was almost as if a lightbulb went off in my head, as if the Broadway angels were whispering in my ear….”Matthew, this is your destiny. Follow your dreams and perform on stage in musicals.”

Then, poof, I woke up to reality as my sister tapped me on the shoulder asking me if I wanted anything from the snack bar. Unbeknownst to me the entire first act was over and it was now intermission. The second act was even better than the first (probably because I was actually alert and paying attention). I could not help but notice the audience’s reactions to the performance. The performance the actors were giving was having an effect on the audience that I had never witnessed before. Regardless of how they were feeling when they sat down, they were now laughing. They were happy, some were even singing along, regardless of pitch. I was mesmerized by this. In that moment, I not only realized the power an actor’s performance has on their audience, I realized that I wanted to make people laugh and be happy. I wanted to be an ACTOR! Little did I know that it wasn’t going to be that easy. In fact later that night when we got home, I shared my uncontrollable excitement with my parents. At which my dad quickly pointed his finger at me and advised, “Son, as soon as you walk across that stage to receive your college diploma, you may then walk the streets of Hollywood!”

Can you share your story of Grit and Success? First can you tell us a story about the hard times that you faced when you first started your journey?

After graduating from college with my bachelors degree in Liberal Studies and Dramatic Arts, I immediately made my way to Los Angeles.

I had my college diploma and my walking shoes and thought, “I was ready to walk all over Hollywood! I was ready for stardom!”

I was again met with (my now self-proclaimed) nemesis, “Reality.” I was told you need an agent. Then the agents told me you need the experience to get an agent.

So, I found some open auditions and was told by casting directors that I couldn’t get experience because I didn’t have an agent. I didn’t know that all this Hollywood acting was going to be so damn confusing. And that was just the start of it. Meanwhile, I was quickly learning how to fall and then get up again. I wanted this bad enough, and I wasn’t going to stop.

I finally landed the role that was going to take me to stardom. I quickly found a payphone and called home. When my mom asked who I was playing, I told her, “His name is “Background”. Little did I know that the extra work later turned into a featured role with two lines, which in turn got me my Taft Hartley to join SAG.

Where did you get the drive to continue even though things were so hard?

Regardless of all the auditions I was going out on, the “glorified extra” parts that I was getting, I knew that I was doing what I loved doing — Acting!

Every time I didn’t get the role, I was determined to go on another audition, and another, and another… I kept my faith strong. I knew that God had helped open the door for me to begin this journey. I told God that if it was meant to be to please give me the strength (and the gas money) to keep going.

What are you currently working on?

I am currently working on bringing cheer and hope to those Covid19 patients through cards and get well messages on my phone as well as encouragement messages for all the nurses and doctors on the frontline. Before the pandemic outbreak, I was in production on a soap-opera themed comedy, playing the town villain on a webseries set to start streaming later this year.

Can you share a story about the funniest mistake you made when you were first starting? Can you tell us what lesson you learned from that?

No real funny moments for me, sorry.

Which tips would you recommend to your colleagues in your industry to help them to thrive and not “burn out”?

Never give up. Just like Dory in Finding Nemo…Keep swimming, keep swimming, keep swimming….

Keep going no matter what. Regardless of that audition you bombed, or that role that you wanted and didn’t land.

Find people that share your same passion and that believe in you. Surround yourself with these people.

I cannot survive without my core Tuesday Night Cohort. You guys know who you are. I love you all!

None of us are able to achieve success without some help along the way. Is there a particular person who you are grateful towards who helped get you to where you are? Can you share a story?

I would like to thank all my drama teachers who guided me on this path many years ago. If it wasn’t for our theater teachers, where would any of us be right?

What are your “5 things I wish someone told me before I started?

1- Rejection just means extra motivation

2 — Surround yourself with people who share in the same ambitions, goals, etc.

3 — Love yourself

4. Believe in yourself

5. Work is WORK!

How can our readers follow you on social media?

Instagram: dramapayne

Facebook: Matthew Scott Payne

--

--

Misty Schwartz
Stars In Your Eyes

Misty Schwartz is a public relations and marketing guru, she also enjoys doing charity events in her spare time. https://schwartzentertainmentmedia.com/