Q & A With Matthew Payne

Misty Schwartz
Stars In Your Eyes
Published in
2 min readJul 14, 2020

Thank you so much for joining us! Can you tell us a story about what brought you to this specific career path?

I started doing community theater when I was five years old and pursued it through high school. While in college I minored in dramatic arts which led me to performing in equity theater here in Los Angeles. I made the choice to branch off into film and television and was introduced to Suzanne DeLaurentiis. I joined her I Acting class and the rest is is they say history.

What inspires you?

I am inspired by meeting other actors on a site and seeing the hard work and dedication that they put into their work. As well as getting to know them and hearing their stories of the journeys they brought them to where they are today.

What’s your most memorable experience?

Working on the set of D-railed From 6 PM to 6AM for 7 days straight. The bonding that took place on that set was incredible. We definitely got to know each other very well. In fact the friends that I made on that site will last for a lifetime!

Which social media channels work best for promoting your work? What exactly do you do on the social media channel that makes it work for you?

Instagram: dramapayne

Facebook: matthew payne

I just post post post pics of every event that I attend as well as every project that I am involved in. Which I’m still getting used to since I’m so old-school!

What’s your greatest fear?

My greatest fear is not being able to make people laugh, or to even entertain. That’s why I think it’s important that we make the best of each and every day!

Looking back, what’s one thing you wish you understood better before you ever got started?

I wish I would have understood the fact that we can always learn something to make us better at what we do. Whether it’s class or a workshop… There’s always room to learn.

What are the strategies that helped you become successful in your journey?

Patience, love, and perseverance. Patience, between auditions and bookings. Love for the craft of acting. Which is more important to me than the monetary value. Perseverance for those “will I ever make it” moments.

What keeps you going when things get tough?

My faith in God keeps me going. As well as my friends and family who contine to pray for me.

A message to my fans:

For anyone out there who has ever wondered could I be an actor? I say go for it! As the poet Les Brown once said, " Shoot for the moon. Even if you miss, you'll land amongst the stars."

How can people connect with you?

Instagram: dramapayne

Facebook: matthew payne

--

--

Misty Schwartz
Stars In Your Eyes

Misty Schwartz is a public relations and marketing guru, she also enjoys doing charity events in her spare time. https://schwartzentertainmentmedia.com/