Hey, what’s up?

It’s been a while since my last Medium post!

My Two Cents | Jijo Johny
My Start-up Journey
4 min readNov 2, 2023

--

I’m taking a little time off from startup life to regroup. One strange thing that’s happened during my three-month break is that I’ve suddenly become vegetarian!

I’ve found the courage to say no to meat.

Photo by Francesco La Corte on Unsplash

I wanted to be a vegetarian because I was involved in meditation and tried to follow Hindu mythology. But I was confused and struggling. I’d been trying to be vegetarian for about a year and a half, but I couldn’t stick with it.

Giddhu Krishnamurthi & Me.

Giddhu Krishnamurti challenges the status quo, other teachings, and concepts of gurus. He is very strong about his opinions and pushes us to look within and accept reality as it is. This takes a lot of courage.

Giddhu Krishnamurthy

I was struggling with the choice of whether to become vegetarian for health or spiritual reasons when I came across one of his speeches, which you can read here. During that time, I was also upset about the Ukraine crisis, and reading his speech had a profound effect on me.

I became serious about looking further into the violence we show toward animals and the same violence we show each other in war. I felt that all the violence we show toward animals and each other is so cruel and brutal that I did not want to be a part of it. That is the story of how I became a vegetarian.

Me & My Family

During the past three months, as I was completely out of my daily routine from my startup, I had a great deal of time to spend with my family. My son is now just over three years old, and he is so much into discussing and learning things. I am as excited as he is.

I have a plan to start a publication titled “Letters from Dada to Isai,” where I want to share my experience of growing old with him.

What about My Startups?

Yes, that’s a big question! Yes, it is true that I had to put a pause on my second venture, but I have some active plans in development to do things even better very soon. I am actually having some time off before starting fresh, more focused, and with more resources.

What’s in X?

During this period, I’ve also felt a strong urge to write and be more active on Twitter/X. Yes, it was initially because I was trying to figure out what Elon Musk is doing with Twitter.

Photo by Sunny Hassan on Unsplash

Twitter was in the limelight for its misinformation about the Gaza issue, and I was further attracted to the platform as I have been seeing even more information there than I would actually get from newspapers and media. I am genuinely concerned about humanitarian concerns around the world, and I am thinking of actively campaigning for people to see the depth of the violence in human nature. I want a platform to do that, and I know that Twitter/X is it.

In the past, I avoided Twitter because I felt vulnerable sharing my opinion. I had tried it before and was scared of the angry comments and bullying.

But now, thanks to advances in AI, I can quickly get a second opinion on things that could be polarizing. This gives me the confidence to communicate effectively and clearly.

Beyond all of this, I’m also trying to overcome my fears and publicly share my opinion, display my emotions, and be more genuine and real.

I strongly condemn the violence, and I think it’s time for me to talk about it regardless of the outcome. I’m trying to find ways to effectively communicate and make people aware of the violence as much as I am.

That’s the role of X

Me & You

Another key aspect of my life that I am currently examining is the division within myself. I am trying to understand how often I have separative thoughts, and whenever I see them, I realize them for what they are. Yes, I see that I am capable of the same things that I complain about in others. There is no denying that we are deeply divided, both personally and at the core.

We all know that we can bring peace to the world if we want to. But politics, leaders, ideas, and agendas are all passed down to us, and we make the world a living hell for ourselves. Why? I’m trying to find out. I’m going deeper into it and trying to understand why I’m so upset about the Gaza crisis.

This is one of the reasons why I’m visiting Twitter more frequently now.

That’s it for now. I feel relieved to have finally written down what I’m feeling.

Thanks for reading

--

--

My Two Cents | Jijo Johny
My Start-up Journey

I’m Jijo, a start-up founder with a vision of improving the quality of human life. Being a proud father & husband, I’m here to impart My Two Cents to the world.