Prototype Everything

Santiago’s Maker Space & Equity Split Workshop

Sergio Marrero
Start-Up Leap

--

Maker Space

Before leaving Chile I was invited by a friend and fellow entrepreneur, Adrian Avendano, CEO of PeopleHunt, to the Maker Space in Santiago. The lab has a subtle feel of secrecy as you enter through a large metal door into what seems like an abandon warehouse off a residental street in Providencia. It is anything but abandon. Game creators were coding away, film producers dicussing their productions, while inventors were printing prototypes of products on the 3D printer. A true space for creatives to make the future. It was beautiful. I have not been in a space like this for a while.

Images of the Maker Space, Adrian interviewing Alberto Martin Grez (fellow maker and recently acccepted Start-Up Chile participant!), cassette container, and 3D printed products

The space reminded me of our engineering labs in college with the tools and toys, but more freedom. How come it took so long for me to learn about these spaces? Next stop is checking these spaces out in the US.

Equity Split Workshop

Inspired by my visit to the Maker Space, I was moved to do rather than to think and plan. I prototyped a workshop for entrepreneur founders. Doing Design Thinking workshops earlier that week, was rejuvenating, but I wanted to create an interactive exercise for founders on ‘Splitting the Founder Pie’ (splitting the equity of your start-up between founding team members).

A workshop walked the participants through a simulation of two founders, helped them identify areas of importance, and walk away with an estimate of equity for each founder as a start for team discussions. After we spoke as a we ended with a Q&A session. Thank you to Muhammad At-Tauhidi, fellow Start-Up Chile participant and CEO of Houdini, who shared his experience as a founder and lawyer.

Sample grid from the exercise conducted during the ‘Splitting the Founder Pie’ workshop

Here is the rough presentation of the first workshop. The excitement and energy from the participants gave me much insight for the next version, which I am looking to facilitate for more groups soon or making a skillshare class (if you are interested message me or comment on the post!).

Alast, I prototyped a service and not a physical product which my industrial-engineering-roots is craving, but this is just the beginning. More to come next time.

Back to my portfolio

--

--