Your career doesn’t come with GPS

Faye Benfield
The start-out
Published in
5 min readSep 4, 2015
Image credit: Oliver Emberton, from a great article on developing your passion.

You’re starting out in your career, what are you thinking? “I know exactly what I want to do, what courses I need to take, connections I need to make and jobs I need to go for!” No? Didn't think so. Sadly few of us are this clear and focused about our career aspirations; so how do you go about getting on the career ladder?

Some lessons I've learned

  • Make choices for yourself and no one else.
  • Try it out and give it a go.
  • Learn to adapt; if things don’t turn out as you expected make a new plan.
  • Do something you believe in, something that’s important to you.
  • Never stop learning.

Make a choice and try it out

Let’s assume you have some choices, it’s a great place to start. The first decision I made was to go to university. I wanted the experience, to meet new people and to buy myself a bit more time to figure out exactly what I wanted to do with my life. It was tough choosing what to study, what helped me make my mind up was the two 6-month work placements that my chosen degree offered me. I did a 4-year thin-sandwich in Media and Communication Studies at Brunel. I had the innate feeling that work experience would give me a head start when I finally left the world of academia, and I wasn't wrong but there were a few surprises along the way.

I had this idea that I’d be a camerawoman, and working in TV. I liked the idea of making something visual, having lots of variety in my job and not working 9–5 in an office. For my second work placement I was a Runner at a TV studio. I was bright eyed and hopeful, I thought “this is going to open doors.” What I actually learned was I wasn't willing to be a runner for an indefinite amount of time, unpaid; I simply didn't love it enough. I tried it out but it wasn't for me.

Adapt, unexpected things will happen

My university days, work experience, first job, moving into central London, moving way out of London away from friends and all that was familiar, taught me many things including how to adapt. But it was only when I went travelling that I truly learned to recognize and appreciate it.

I was alone in a remote part of India waiting at the agreed place to meet a friend and share Christmas with her, but she didn't show. It was a fairly quiet town, there weren’t any other travelers around and I wasn’t very seasoned, I’d only been travelling about 4 weeks. She didn’t really use email (and Facebook wasn’t around then) so I was stumped for what to do. I felt lonely, deserted and upset at the prospect of spending Christmas alone.

I phoned her boyfriend in the UK who hadn’t heard from her, I checked my email just in case, nothing, I checked with reception at the guest house, had they heard? Nothing. After waiting another day a voicemail came through, she wasn’t coming. So what now?

Adapt! It sounds flippant, but I learned a big lesson that day, and this lesson was compounded many more times during my 3 years abroad. I learned that even with the best laid plans, even when it’s important to you, it may not work out how you expect. I learned not to base my hopes on other people, I learned the responsibility of choice and to make my own choices for me.

I also learned the unexpected can be wonderful. This belief was reaffirmed a few years later when back in the UK a freelance job had ended rather abruptly. Full of self-doubt and uncertainty I was jobless and had no idea what to do next. I had a enough money to pay the rent for a month or two so decided to get a part time job in a bar and take stock. Whilst working in the bar I met a guy who was also working there, also trying to figure out what the next step in his career should be. Now, 5 years later, we’re engaged! Before losing my job I didn't expect to find myself working in a bar, nor did I expect to find love and the man I’d end up marrying, I didn't even think I wanted to get married. I’m grateful I embraced the unexpected.

Be passionate and do something you believe in

So how do you know if your choices are the right ones and if the path you’re trying out is worth it? It’s simple, ask yourself: is it important to you, do you believe in it, is it something you’re passionate about? If yes then you’re on the right track.

Along my journey I have often felt unsure but I’ve realised there is a thread in the choices I've made and the path I've taken so far. It has lead me to Comic Relief and where I am now a Senior Product Manager in the Digital team. I believe in the work Comic Relief does; the grants we fund, the strategic approach to our grant making, the work we do with celebrities and partner organisations, and the many individuals, companies and the generous British public that combine their efforts to work toward our mission: A just world free from poverty.

Of course it’s easy to say I believe in the work of a charity, especially when I work there, but all of the lessons along my journey so far help me know this is where I am meant to be.

My role encompasses much of what I am passionate about. My love of producing and creating is achieved through the visual and interactive products we make. My desire to contribute was enhanced whilst volunteering when I was travelling, and working for a charity that supports grass roots projects helps me to fulfill this. Product Management is mostly about people, those you work with and the users or customers you are creating experiences for; I find people and behaviour incredibly intriguing and I'm social being at heart. The variety within the digital space means I need to constantly adapt and learn, which keeps things interesting.

I know I am meant to be here because I care about my work, my colleagues, the aims of the organisation I work for and I enjoy what I do.

A final thought: being open will make you happier and more fulfilled

If you’re open you’ll learn, you’ll adapt, you’ll figure out what makes you happy and you’ll make other people happy along the way.

It’s scary, but very rewarding, why not give it a try?

--

--

Faye Benfield
The start-out

Freelance Consultant reflecting on Product Management, Digital Transformation, Leadership and Coaching in charity and purpose-led organisations.