Kelly R. Bailey: “My biggest challenge was thinking that I wasn’t worthy [of career growth] because I was a Mom” (Episode 25/S3 Ep7)

Rucha Gokhale
Starting Trouble
Published in
4 min readMay 22, 2017

Our guest today is Kelly Bailey, Principal at Blueprint Education Group. Kelly is a working mom with 3 young kids. She had her first child when she was in her 20s and she realized that there was a huge difference in how she approached work-life balance then versus now. Kelly quit her corporate job within the last year to find a balance that really works for her young family. In the meantime, she has turned her passion for education into a higher ed consulting business and is now exploring the world of early childhood education through the lens of her own experiences raising young children. Her support system is her mother, another kickass #MomWhoWorks who also found that her career was made possible thanks to HER very supportive mother.

A self-confessed Type A, over a period of time Kelly has learned the value of letting go of the little things to make the big picture a success. Her passion is infectious, and after the tough times she’s had to face in her life she’s figured out how to make the most of every opportunity and every minute that comes along.

Happy listening!

Audio

Interview with Kelly R. Bailey, Principal at Blueprint Education Group

Video

Interview with Kelly R. Bailey, Principal at Blueprint Education Group

Guest Profile

Kelly R. Bailey, Principal at Blueprint Education Group

LinkedIn

Age: 36 years

Bio:

Mother of 3 who left a full-time job last year to work on creating a work/life balance. Professionally, I am known for relationship building and strategic planning in higher education. My passions include: supporting working mothers, reforming education for out of the box thinkers, supporting children with learning disabilities and their parents, fashion, work/life balance, healthy living, transforming the idea of career services in education, education and job opportunities for disadvantaged youth, gaining skills versus degrees, and more.

Fun fact:

My family is a truly ‘modern family’. I am the oldest of 7. There were 3 of us originally and then my parents divorced and remarried. We gained 2 step-siblings and 2 half-siblings. The 2 half-siblings are 15 and 13. My husband has a 14 year old from a previous relationship. So my kids(8, 6, and 2) call two teenagers Aunt and Uncle and one brother, ha!

What childcare option did you go with for your child(ren)? Why?

A part-time nanny up until I left my job. I traveled, so paying for daycare and a nanny to fill in on the off hours was out of the question and with multiple children you pay one price for a nanny versus 3 tuitions. I could not have one full-time because it was too expensive. Now I have no help and work while the 2 older kids are in school. Hoping to have my little guy in preschool this fall. Summer will be interesting though :).

How do you continue to work on your professional growth with motherhood in the balance?

Consulting has given me the opportunity to work on things outside my skillset, so that has been the way I continue to grow. My middle daughter has recently been diagnosed with dyslexia, ADHD, and anxiety. Although I have not been focused on early-childhood learning in the past, this has really increased my inside knowledge on these disorders and how to work with schools, etc to get the help a child needs. Opportunities to grow may not be how we expect, but they are still there.

How do you proactively network given the constraints of motherhood?

That one is very difficult. From 3pm to bedtime it is a mad rush to do homework, shuttling to/from activities, dinner, baths. I also have the constraint of not being close to the city. I try my best to keep in touch over the phone with at least 2 people in my network/week and join Meetup groups and attend when I can. Sometimes it’s just chatting with other parents at a soccer game. As a parent you just need to re-define networking to fit your lifestyle.

In what ways does your spouse/family/friends support you and how much does that factor into your success?

My husband travels and commutes on a daily basis and pitches in when he can. I could not survive without the help of my mother. She has told me that her career was only possible because of her mother’s help and now I can say the same. Even still, she cannot be here 24/7. For those of you who are planners like me, it takes a bit of letting go at times and an insane calendar! Happy to share my system if anyone is interested. Just recently I have started becoming more open to help from friends. Figuring out transportation for 3 kids to multiple activities is difficult and now more friends in my neighborhood have been coming together to carpool. We are just figuring it out, but it is a huge help.

Anything else you’d like to share with our audience?

Don’t feel bad to ask for help.

** You can subscribe to the Starting Trouble podcast on iTunes to receive notifications when we upload new shows. You can also subscribe to Starting Trouble on YouTube to see recorded interviews and other events that you may have missed before!

--

--