An Information Security Policy for the Startup

Welcome to the company! We’re here to change the world! Before we start moving fast, we need to make sure you don’t cause a massive security incident and flat line the company’s productivity for a few days.

Please read the following and sign at the bottom.

I will panic correctly

security@

My laptop could ruin everything

The company gave me a laptop to use, which was still shrink wrapped and will ruin everything if I don’t do these simple things:

  • I will use Chrome because they invest in security.
  • I will encrypt my laptop because I will probably lose it.
  • I will use a screensaver that turns on when I’m away. This screen saver will require a password which… is the whole point!
  • I will install (and use) a password manager. If I forget to do this, I will walk out the door and effectively terminate myself for being unworthy of employment.
  • I will turn on Click To Play which will hugely reduce my odds of being hacked.
  • I will turn on “find my…” features so I don’t freak everyone out and wake everyone up when I randomly lost my phone or laptop in my own damn house on a Friday night.

My privacy is threatened

Here are the common reasons why:

  • During a security breach, my laptop might be imaged and stored elsewhere, my browser history would be scoured over, and my emails will be investigated for exploitation. It’s hard to spare my privacy when I’m hacked at work so I shouldn’t expect any.
  • I may be sued or become part of a lawsuit. My data would be subject to discovery and the peering eyes of all kinds of lawyers and the public through court proceedings as they figure out what is, and is not, relevant for their lawyering.
  • I may be fired. Or I’ll quit! My teammates may gain access to my data to continue any critical work. I can’t expect they’d know when to avert their eyes, or be blinded by the rash photos I emailed to my Doctor.
  • I realize IT needs to do their job. They might access network traffic to diagnose network downtime or that ridiculous 10 gigabyte cat video attachment that caused everyone’s email to crash while they get to a root cause.

Since these all all terrible scenarios, I will restrict my usage of company technology to just work related stuff as best as possible, because it will only make things painful if any of the above situations happened. And I certainly won’t use my personal devices to do work stuff, which would complicate things far more than what was explained above.

Hey… I’m not an animal! I have rights!

As I mentioned above, I expect all of my co-workers with administrative access to my data to be held under tight ethical usage standards and be secured from outsider abuse. If a co-worker decides to violate these protections, someone should tell me about it. If abuse transpires, I will have reduced my personal data exposure on these systems as much as possible beforehand.

Additionally, if I do illegal stuff on corporate systems, I don’t expect the company to cover my ass in any way. They’re already on the phone with law enforcement, plotting my capture with a SWAT team. I just want to be able to read my personal gmail on my laptop without some unchecked creeper watching me on my system.

My password is ‘dog’

  1. I will use a password manager like LastPass or 1Password so I don’t blindly fall victim to phishing websites.
  2. I will never use the same password in more than one place, nor will I store my life savings in the trunk of my car.
  3. Any passwords I can’t use within a manager (like a master password) will be hard to crack, and not be horribly weak like “2hot4u”
  4. Every time it’s offered: I will enable multi-factor authentication to make an attackers life harder and give my team more peace of mind during a breach, on every system it’s offered on.
  5. I will not use my personal email accounts for cloud platforms that support the company. That would nosedive everything if my home systems were hacked during a work related project. Also, when I quit, I probably won’t want to talk to you all anymore and this will cause an awkward phone call with my crappy former boss.

Engineering Policies

Logs catch the bad guys

Skeletons are bad

Oh, that brings me to my next point.

Math is hard

  • Storage of a private key or API token in a place that isn’t so private
  • Broken-For-Years Hashing algorithms like MD5
  • Password Storage so I don’t mess it up like LinkedIn did in 2012
  • Storage of credit card numbers so we’re not breached like every company before us, ever

If I smell something broken in this area, I will also give security@ a shout because it would be a disaster if I screwed this up.

Don’t trust other companies

That other marketing startup probably wouldn’t give a second thought to about how many times they email our users, or who they sell the data to, or who could possibly ever breach them. Or maybe that strategic partnership with a bigger company might not warrant full production access to our systems… that would be a good thing to review.

Lets not ink our data away.

I’m not a creep

I read this and won’t ruin our security

Signed, ____________________

What is this “security policy” for?

This is a minimal policy drawing from ISO27002, but articulated in a way that could actually be understood. By being a bare minimum policy, it should be applicable almost everywhere. Add what you need based on the maturity of your company, like vulnerability disclosure or regular third party audit requirements.

I’ve helped respond to countless incidents, big and small. The policy above is ruthlessly prioritized to address the most painful stuff that actually happens.

@magoo

--

--