Restore ubuntu after installing windows

Rahul Prasad
A Coder’s Laboratory
1 min readAug 20, 2010

I saw an article on recovering lost ubuntu after installing windows. I was pretty confident and installed windows 7 on my box. After that I started following the article and I was stuck with a blank grub menu during startup.

I booted from ubuntu live DVD and started reading more about restoring grub. Here is a solution I came up with.

Its a step by step guide to restoring ubuntu.
(Note: Its for Grub2. I am using Ubuntu 10.04)

Step1: Boot using Ubuntu Live CD/DVD.

Step2: Open terminal. (Press Alt+F2 and write gnome-terminal)

Step3: Now you need to mount your root partition. You can see a list of partition by typing sudo fdisk -l

Step4: Now mount the root partition sudo mount /dev/sdXY /mnt

Example: sudo mount /dev/sda6 /mnt
Where sda6 is the partition where I had my ubuntu’s / installed.

Step5: If you had a separate boot partition. Then mount it in /mnt/boot using command sudo mount /dev/sdXZ /mnt/boot
Example: sudo mount /dev/sda8 /mnt/boot

Step6: Now install grub sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/ /dev/sdX
Example: sudo grub-install --root-directory=/mnt/ /dev/sda
where sdX is your first hard disk from where your system boots Or where MBR is located.

Step7: Restart your computer. It will automatically boot into your old ubuntu.

Step8: Open terminal and execute sudo update-grub

Step9: Restart your system.

DONE

--

--