Review on Chromecast

This is my review on Chromecast.

Youngki Chang
Startup and Technology

--

I finally decided to buy a Chromecast when I realize that I could buy it through amazon.ca. I thought I could not buy it in Canada because Google does not officially sell it here. But you could still buy it from amazon.ca, and the seller is still Google. I found it strange. Why does not Google sell it directly from Google Play in Canada?

Chromecast, here it comes.

Setting it up couldn’t be easier. I plugged the dongle into HDMI in my TV, turned on the TV, followed the instruction on the TV by downloading a Chromecast android app on my phone. I set up the WIFI through the Chromecast app on my phone. Then, after the firmware update, the Chromecast is ready to be played.

Chromecast firmware update

Google advertises Chromecast for its simplicity and ease of use, and that wasn’t a lie. It is indeed really easy to use. On the Youtube app, I press the Chromecast button, then the video clip that is being played on my phone is immediately casted to my TV. Netflix works the same way. So far Youtube and Netflix are the only major services that support Chromecast, but since I mainly use Youtube and Netflix to watch video contents anyways, I am quite happy with the device.

There are two more services which I think should support Chromecast soon: Dropbox and Google Drive. I have some movie clips stored in Dropbox and Google Drive and I want to watch them through Chromecast as well. I think this is a very plausible use case and I hope Dropbox and Google Drive will add Chromecast features into their services in the near future.

So far I am very satisfied with the device. It does its job and I love its simplicity. If there are even more apps that support Chromecast, which I think will happen soon, this device will become even more popular.

--

--