The power of peers

Matt McFedries
Startup Founders Christchurch
2 min readMay 24, 2016

One thing that prompted me to start a Meetup for Startup Founders Christchurch was that some of the best learning I’ve had in the 6 months has been from other founders.

There’s nothing like talking to someone who’s actually walked in your shoes as a founder. Advisors and mentors help, greatly. But I think we miss out if we don’t also connect with our peers in the startup world.

Last week I had the privilege of being invited to a meetup called ‘Kiss my SaaS’ in Wellington. And spent 3 hours hanging out with the CEO’s, CMO’s and CTO’s of Wellington’s fastest growing SaaS startups. In the CEO session we spent an hour discussing capital raising followed by an hour sharing our learnings on HR and hiring. Followed by beer and networking.

I learned a lot.

Some of the insight helped me now, some confirmed recent decisions, some I filed away for the future. I left feeling helped, empowered and inspired. More fuel for the journey, more fire in my belly.

Here’s the things I get from talking to fellow founders:

  1. Belief. I can do this. I can make this crazy idea happen
  2. Wisdom. Shortcuts. Some things you don’t have to learn the hard way
  3. Connections. Introductions to other founders / mentors / investors / potential employees / suppliers

Bringing it back to Christchurch. We had our monthly Meetup drinks last Friday at Space Academy. And it was brilliant to share and hear journeys, progress, wins and battles. From new business ideas, to people raising money to go to the next level, and everything in between.

I look forward to continuing the journey with this bunch of Christchurch upstarts. It’s been super-good so far; exceeding my expectations in attendance and the awesomeness of the people — and we’ve only met twice!

Onwards!!

--

--

Matt McFedries
Startup Founders Christchurch

Father. Husband. Entrepreneur. Student of lean and #JTBD. Currently working on myself, debtordaddy.com & three kids.