4 Growth Tips I Learned Getting 5,689 Views on Medium This Month

Mike Fishbein
Startup Grind
Published in
7 min readAug 2, 2016

--

I’m very excited about Medium as a platform for writers and marketers to reach new audiences. I think of it like YouTube for articles.

If you’re going to write or produce any kind of content, you need a way to get people to your work. Simply hitting publish on your website that has zero traffic is not enough anymore.

Fortunately, there are numerous platforms with massive user bases that you can tap into.

If you’re going to publish on your own website, your two best sources of traffic will likely be search (SEO) or social shares— search being the better of the two.

But search is not always a viable strategy. It depends on your market. In some markets there are many content creators, making it difficult to outrank the competition.

The key is to find a channel where there is significant demand for your topic and relatively little supply. Google and YouTube have been around forever and have attracted many content creators. Meanwhile Medium is still relatively new and doesn’t have as much competition.

That’s why I decided to increase my publishing and promotion efforts on Medium.

I published my first story on Medium about two years ago. I’ve had the occasional big hit, but I had been…

--

--