My Wife Thinks She’s A Side Chick (PLUS: Vaynerniching)

How To Be The First Thought In Your Prospect’s Mind

Nabeel Azeez
Startup Grind
Published in
3 min readJan 24, 2019

--

My wife thinks I’m married to my computer/phone and she’s just a side-chick.

Because I spend a (seemingly) insane amount of time talking s*** on the internet.

But I’m gonna have the last laugh.

Here’s why:

I got an interesting email the other day from a VIP in the direct marketing scene.

They had this to say:

“And it wasn’t just [Monica], [JT], [Dennis]… and for many people… when I said Dubai you were the first person everyone said I should speak with.”

^^I’ve changed the names.

This wasn’t a coincidence, mind you.

It’s the result of a deliberate, 2-step strategy.

Today, I’m going to show you exactly how I did it.

Step 1: Make yourself interesting and easy to remember

Now, this comes easier to me than most but I assure you, everyone can do it.

First of all, I look remarkable (chocolate brown skin, bald head, massive beard, impeccably dressed in my photos).

Second, I’m naturally gregarious and opinionated.

You don’t have to look or behave like me.

But you DO need to figure out your personal style.

And your personality, your weirdness, should be front and center in every interaction.

Third, and this is the most important, you need to have a crystal-clear unique selling proposition.

“Meet Dubai’s most expensive copywriter.”

I see a lot of business owners, marketeers, and even my own copywriting peers try to be clever over being clear.

Nuh-uh. Not you. You won’t do that.

You are going to be 110% clear before you even think of being clever.

If you look at my USP above:

  • I’m local
  • I’m high-end
  • I’m a copywriter

^^BTW, there IS cleverness in my USP. Can you figure it out? Hit reply and let me know.

Step 2: Make it seem like you’re EVERYWHERE

This can seem like magic but really it’s just how advertising works:

Be top of mind.

If you’re an internet marketer, it’s like pixel-ing your visitors so your ads can follow them around all over the internet.

The global direct marketing fraternity is fairly small, and I used this to my advantage.

For the past 4–6 months, I have spent well over 5 figures ($) and ~100 hours with the specific intention of creating and developing relationships with the kind of people in my industry who can make introductions to VIPs like the one quoted above.

So when they started asking around in their network, everyone mentioned me.

This combined with my USP made it seem like I’m the Don Dada of copywriting and internet marketing in Dubai.

Vaynerniching

I call this strategy Vaynerniching.

^^Pretty cool, huh? I just came up with it.

It’s a tribute to Gary Vaynerchuk because I got the idea from him.

What’s Gary Vee’s M.O.?

Content creation at scale so his brand has an asymmetric presence on every online marketing channel possible.

No one can deny it works; Vaynermedia grossed $100 million in 2016 and has over 600 employees.

But a lot of people balk (understandably so) when you tell them they need to show up online like Gary Vee.

A) It’s a massive investment of time and energy.

B) Gary Vee has an army of millennial minions shipping his content for him (costing him big bucks.)

Here’s the thing, though:

YOU DON’T HAVE TO BE GARY VEE.

You can’t be.

Only Gary Vee can be Gary Vee.

What YOU need to do is adapt his strategy and scale it down for your niche.

You be the Gary Vee of YOUR THING.

The cool thing is, I’m not even close to maxing out on my own Vaynerniching yet.

What’s your favorite way to build strategic relationships like the ones above?

Lemme know in the comments. I might steal an idea or two. ;)

Nabeel Azeez is the author of Dragon Energy: The Tao Of Personal Branding

--

--

Nabeel Azeez
Startup Grind

Direct Response Copywriter • 1–0–1 White Collar Boxer • Email Marketing Agency @dropkickcopy • Lifestyle brand @beamuslimman • For more about me nabeelazeez.com